You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pull Request Submitted - Remove reputation protection from downvoted post hiding

in #abuse7 years ago

Not sure about this, while there's the corner case of a 65+ Rep account being compromised, flag attacks are far more common on the Steem network. I believe there should be some protection for high Rep authors against bad actors. Imagine if you (or any high Rep author) make a comment, and some people (not even a whale) downvotes it baselessly - I wouldn't want it to be hidden.

Of course, the real issue here is that the Reputation system is dysfunctional and needs a complete overhaul. I'm sure that's in the pipeline somewhere for Hivemind's future releases, but probably a long time away. I have also suggested a decentralized judiciary system several times before. Clearly Dan seems to have learned from his mistakes with Steem and working on implementing one in EOS.

Sort:  

Valid points. As far as high rep users being downvoted, it could in theory be countered with an anti-abuse bot. Also, I would assume that they would have enough SP to counter it themselves if they wanted to (at least in most cases).

I'm not 100% set on the change though, and I think it is a good thing to discuss. Ultimately it will be up to Steemit as to whether or not they accept the PR.

No small fish dares to downvote a whale needlessly or without basis. Don't forget whales have the SP at their side.
The only case that High rep people would be affected is if another high rep or high SP downvoted them. In that case, I would like to think that these downvotes are not baseless!

Thank you for sharing and discussing.

I could agree with some protection to higher rep users, however I don't agree this marker shall be at 65+. I see high rep accounts abusing Steemit since the moment they were able to do so, eg having high rep and since HF19 removed many of the anti abusive protection already (eg the removal of limited number of post per day).

I fully agree the Rep system is not correctly implemented. The current Rep system allows users with high Rep to abuse the system without their Rep being effected when receiving downvotes. Also the power required the Rep is for higher Rep users to high, allowing high(er) rep users to abuse the platform for a longer period of time.

Recently I was flag attacked by @firepower a reputation 69 account and his @s4s, an account with 170k+ delegated SP. @firepower even banned me and other users who support me from steemit.chat just because I reveal the fact that he used a comment bot to spam Steemit.

Normally high reputation users have more powerful friends to help them. And low reputation users are helpless when they are treated unfairly.

This kind of protection is not fair. Why don't protect accounts with 60+ or 50+?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63314.98
ETH 3233.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88