You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WANT TO WEKU? - WELL DEPENDING ON WHO YOU ARE, YOU MIGHT NEED A NEW NAME

in #abuse6 years ago (edited)

This is the first I've heard of this WeKu site... looks like the interface is directly copied from steemit?

I went ahead and used @daveks' referral link that you posted, guess I'll try to figure out what advantages this WeKu site has (if any)

For anyone checking it out, I am @kadoka on WEKU now, too.

Sort:  

Yeah, I figured I'd use his referral link. I signed up and made a WARNING post under @real-papa-pepper over there, but I'm not looking to rake in the referral bonuses. If I was, I could probably just created 1000 accounts and refer myself every time and get all the sign up bonuses... but not everyone is like that.

The fact that it's that easy to game the system to gain influence does not bode well for its future potential as a social media earning site (nor its monetary valuation.) It reminds me of the hundreds of sites that existed before Steemit/crypto that were based on pyramid structure referrals to earn, though it is different I suppose.

Unless something changes my mind, I have a pretty unfavorable view on referral programs because it tends to attract the wrong types of people to the community, or interests them for the wrong intentions. Doesn't seem that sustainable in the long term.

Looks like @ats.david, @pfunk and others had their names used to power up his @pro upvote bot over there. Over 46,000 WEKU already in the WEKU POWER.

😒 Yeah that seems like a major oversight if users can grab money just by registering a bunch of usernames.

At cursory first glance, looks like a scammish and lazy attempt to milk Steemit's success with a low-effort clone. Just made my account to see if I can find out more. If my intuition is off I'll redact that first comment :-P

Post From WEKU team:

We are investigating fake accounts. Please try to only sign up one account per person. Don't cheat.

Please trust us and all contributors to the WEKU platform will be rewarded.

Thank you for your support!

https://deals.weku.io/community-deals/@weku-team/fake-accounts

Sounds like a lot of work to ban all those accounts and repossess the referral money.

Just saw that. Left a comment on it.

I just heard of it 2 days ago, so I went to check it out and I couldn’t believe how similar it was to Steemit. I mean, it’s literally a clone of Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45