Serial Image Plagiariser being Upvoted by Curation Trail. Request unvotes so we may flag for effect.

in #abuse6 years ago

We have been busy flagging @sailor-moon for image plagiarism and, if possible, we would like to stop the problem at the source which appears to be a trail upvoting it mostly.

The trail account appears to be:

https://steemd.com/@steemit-japan

@ichigo is the recovery account so will try to get in touch but I don't speak Japanese so there is that. (Guess Google Translate will have to suffice) If you speak Japanese, would appreciate if you do me a solid and reach out.

I see the votes coming in at roughly the same time. Reputable users such as @roelandp and @sirwinchester appear to be on the trail so wanted to give them a heads up.

image

Will work on trying to locate the trail manager to resolve so these users VP isn't used for abuse like this.

image
Ripped off from DeviantArt. Reported by @enforcer48

If you run a trail, please blacklist user @sailor-moon as they are a serial image plagiarizer. If you'd like to drop a flag on them and get paid for it, mention @steemflagrewards in a reply to them and include the category 'image plagiarism' and we will submit the comment to our bot.

I believe I'm getting about 200% back on my flag which is about a nickel. Check it out.

image

Feel free to comment here to let me know and include the link to your flag comment. Let's take this serial abuser down a notch.

Thanks for reading and your attention!

Sort:  

I recently found out about the dangers of following a curation trail: before I knew it, I got caught up in a nasty argument where people were verbally attacking eachother. Since one of the curation trails I followed was upvoting one of the involved parties, I was too. Fortunately someone reached out to me so I was able to remove my vote. It made me think and unfollow most of the trails I was following...

Hi @simplymike, glad to see you again!

Yes, they can indeed be problematic. There is only one that I follow currently which is the @christian-trail who have helped me from my beginning on Steem. It's a nominal weight and I highly prefer manual curation provided I have adequate time. When I do not, I had an auto-voting script I would run with my personal list of authors I believe to produce good content and are working towards the betterment of the platform.

I think it would be helpful if someone where to develop an app similar to smartsteem but with a custom whitelist for when voting power tops off. I had a friend who used smartsteem but he wasn't too happy with his votes being used on excessive vote buyers like @chbartist. Think there could be a demand for that sort of thing. I would do it but web development isn't my strong suite. I do know how to script to get things done but my method is chaotic to say the least.

Glad to run into you again, @anthonyadavisii

I agree that manual curation is still the best way to go, but while I was absent I set up a series of aurovotes and followed a couple of curation trails.

Another thing that bothered me about the situation with the curation trails I mentioned above was the lack of transparency: I tried to figure out which curation trail had voted on those posts, but couldn't find it...

When you mention "an app similar to Smartsteem", you are talking about selling votes?

Selling votes is another league, IMO. I did it for a while, but just like your friend I couldn't live with the fact that my vote could go to simply everyone, so I stopped doing it.

The curation trails I follow now (with only a small percentage of my voting power) are aimed at supporting people more than earning curation rewards, like @newbieresteemday and @friendsofgondor. Of course, you can never be 100% sure where your vote ends up, but I do believe both initiatives work with the best intentions.

I still have some autovotes set up, since I'm still not active regularly. Just like you, I've set up the autovote system to vote on people that produce good content and have the right attitude towards SteemIt. I'll probably keep those set up until I'm full power again (although I suck at manual curation, and those autovotes earn me 5 to 10 times more in curation rewards than when I did everything myself, lol)

Don't mind the auto votes. You may consider doing what @fulltimegeek does: only choose authors who you know will most likely push out quality contents.

You can't fully trust some random curation trails you are not heavily involved in.

I'm pretty involved in both initiatives I mentioned above, so I'm pretty sure such akward things won't happen again.
I made the mistake of following rather unknown trails once, but it won't happen again. I learned my lesson :0)

Thanks, this is very informative as I wasn't previously aware as to how flagging worked on Steemit and how we as a community help mitigate the actions of bad actors.

Link to my flag comment: https://steemit.com/anime/@stevecronin/re-sailor-moon-49gxim-sailor-neptun-20180725t215916087z

Thanks, this is very informative as I wasn't previously aware as to how flagging worked on Steemit and how we as a community help mitigate the actions of bad actors.

You're certainly welcome. Yes, neither was I when I started and realized later how much of a need there is for the activity to be incentivized. Way too many bad actors and bad money on this platform. I mean I know we need investors and all but I believe the whales need to draw a line in the sand so to speak as to what behavior they will allow from other large stakeholders and enforce it. Everything is a bit wild west at the moment but not in a good romanticized sort of way.

Done, Sir, Done! Thank you!

Well said. I work with a lot of fraud & abuse at my day job (I'm on the security team for a cloud computing company) but it's definitely weird to see how that is and isn't handled on decentralized platforms.

I am, however, impressed at the innovative ways this community is coming up with solutions to problems. And, at the end of the day, since we care about the legitimacy of this platform (also investing time & in some cases $,) it's definitely important to take care of it!

I would go as far as to suggest that several of the upvoters on this account do the same thing - Legoland is an example of one I've flagged a few times for using stock images.

it’s crazy all the ways people find to attempt to scam.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 20.11% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

I clap cheeks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01