WIP update 2 – Graphite Artifact – The Waves – Colour Invasion !

in #abstract5 years ago (edited)

Hello ! :)

(aller à la version française)

The work goes on with this baby ( previous step) and I've finally decided to let it control me instead of the opposite.

I know that will work better this way :)

Colours have invited themselves on our fiberboard panel, playing with graphite shades through protective glaze layers (varnish and acrylic binder.)

I still have to deal with some adherence problems on the support, even with painting.

I suspect my initial underlayer paint was of very bad quality, but I'll keep trying to find a way to deal with it, searching for interesting visual effects to get from the "damaged" areas.


As you can notice, there's also a blank area on the right waiting to be designed.

It hasn't revealed yet what had to be done there... So, we'll see :)

You also get a small glimpse on a part of my other long run WIP behind ("The Diagnosis Tree"). I'll soon post some little things about this one too :)

Meanwhile, I wish you all a nice day ! :)

Berien.


Wanna help ? :) You're welcome !
* As a BAT publisher, my BLOG accepts any BAT tips.
* Brave Browser may be installed via this affiliated link.

Many thanks for people who already did it, this helped a lot, and same for those of you who will :)



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://berien.com/techniques-mixtes/wip-update-2-graphite-artifact-the-waves-colour-invasion/
Sort:  

Your color choices are great. I like those soft pastel colors. They make me think of winter for some reason.

I like that you say that you decided to let the painting control yourself instead of the other way around. It must be very difficult to just let go and go with the flow.. but you did it very well :)

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

Thanks @delishtreats :)

The soft colours might not last due to bad support adherence. I tried to avoid using black, but after a test, it seems that's the only paint I have that manages to give some decent grip to next layers above it. That will probably darken the tones to some extent.

I'll see if I can go back to lighter tones after that, but my skills might be the problem at that point :D

About the "let go" aspect, I always find this approach a lot easier rather than the controlled way.
I never get what I want when I try to keep control, but I'm often surprised by what the paints or drawings give me when I let them do their own stuff :D

Looking very wonderful, @berien <3 I really like how the colours are adding a bit of depth and a bit of aura into this piece :)

Very much excited to see what will emerge on the right side of the canvas :D

Thanks @veryspider ! :)

Experimenting with coulours has some interesting effects. I'm not really sure about what I'm exactely doing, but hey, that's the fun part ! :D

For now I'm concentrated on fixing some technical problems on the left, and we'll see what will be the impact on the right blank area :)

Great colors:) Amazing work!

Thank you, @sweettais. Glad you like :)

Amazing colour and line @berien I'm always amazed at abstractions as try as I might I always end up making representational art, but I love the surreal.

Thanks @donnadavisart :)

I guess the result of our own work is more something tied to what we really feel and are rather than what we'd want to do or be :)

Same as you but in the opposite direction : I often try to do representational art but most of the time end with abstract or surreal stuff, very far away from the initial intention :)

Have a nice day :)

Congratulations @berien! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi, @berien!

You just got a 0.2% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87