Things About Me

in #aboutme7 years ago

Hello! My name is Rudy. I hail from rural Pennsylvania. I was born here and I may die here if I don't leave soon.

My interests include (but are not limited to): Music, learning, video gaming and reading.

IMG_20170709_111321.jpg

I never thought that living in the country in the middle of nowhere was a disadvantage. But as I grew up and realized there were other places to explore, I became restless. I ended up leaving my home town after I dropped out of college. Dropping out helped me to find out who I wanted to be, but it took 4 years, 4 different states and a wake up call from my sister to figure it out.

I've lived in Texas, Ohio, South Carolina and Pennsylvania. Texas is where I started to figure out what I wanted. I figured out that I never want kids and I didn't miss my family. Ohio is where I started to miss my family, but they were only 5 hours away so I could visit when I needed to. South Carolina is where I discovered that my baby sister (19 at the time) was pregnant with my niece and in a not so good relationship. I moved back home and she kicked him out. That was the worst. Up to that point, I'd never seen someone break.

On a slightly happier note, I'm living with my parents (to save money) and I'm happier than I've been in a while.

IMG_20170703_200512.jpg
Rural PA at its most beautiful.

I grew up reading. I would hide in the downstairs closet with my favorite Dr. Seuss book and sound out all the words until I knew the book by heart.The first chapter book I remember reading is "Little House on the Prairie" by Laura Ingalls Wilder. It was my favorite for a really long time...until I discovered books I liked to read more. My mom had a collection of "adult" books that she told me I was never to read, but I was 12 and I was curious. I read a book by Nora Roberts (if you don't know, it's almost smutty romance) and my eyes were opened to a whole new world.

Books and music got me through high school. Books were my best friends and I have now collected over 300 of them. But music was my escape. I had every song from the album "Fallen" by Evanescence memorized and I would just lay out under the stars and drift away into nothingness. It was a soothing balm to my young heart.

I started playing instruments in the fourth grade when we had to start with string instruments and I stupidly picked the violin. In fifth grade, however, my parents bought me a flute and that's what I played all through high school. I grew up the most during marching band. I was in MB for 6 years and they were the best years of my life. Not because I made a lot of friends (I didn't) but because of the feeling I got before every performance. The hairs standing up on the back of your neck and the butterflies that instantly died when you stepped on the field. Senior year I taught myself to play the cello and I wish I could afford one because it is the most beautiful instrument.

FB_IMG_1499613726040 (1).jpg
This is my marching band when I was in tenth grade. We may have been small, but we were loud.

I love playing video games. The first video game I remember ever beating was "Tomba! 2 The Evil Swine Return" which no one has ever heard of. I still play it when I'm feeling nostalgic. Playing video games is an outlet for me. Somewhere I can vent my creative urges and also kill dragons.

I'm a huge nerd and I hope we can be friends.

Sort:  

True Flip {ICO} - Already running a transparent blockchain lottery! Bomb! Bonus 20%! Hurry! :)
The platform is already working and making a profit :)
https://steemit.com/ico/@happycoin/true-flip-ico-already-running-a-transparent-blockchain-lottery-bomb-bonus-20-hurry

Welcome to Steemit, best friend! Hint: edit your tags and add introduceyourself. That's the big intro tag.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44