Writing a Captivating "About Me" is Hard!

in #aboutme7 years ago

I guess I'll start with the word, letter, pronoun; I. Now that I've demonstrated how awkward I really am... Let me finally begin.

Heyyy, my Name is Ginele! I was born & raised in Brooklyn, New York. Yes, I'll talk about growing up in Brooklyn eventually but let us all focus on what's really unimportant here shall we. My NAME is spelled GINELE (pronounced-> Ginel), wth!! I know, Ginelle seems less lame, why didn't they add the extra "L"?!

Well, what had happened was... Mami didn't know a lick of English back in 1987 (not that she's any better now); she just wasn't able to correct the spelling because she was left alone in the hospital to give birth to a 9lb baby girl. Yes, Alone!! Apparently, back in the day Men didn't HAVE to go to the hospital and worry about their children being born in the room next door. Call it "machista" or not. I definitely feel it's very important for my baby's father to be present during our child's birth!! POPS BETTA RECOGNIZZZ I WAS IMPORTANT! Besides, he could've helped translating! Anyway, get use to this! I go in and out of topics a lot! I'm a pretty detailed speaking person... I'm not sure if that's a thing but it's definitely me. Being that I like to go into details, I reveal a lot about myself. I'm not sure I necessarily like that about myself but sometimes I can't help it!!! Either way, You'll learn a whole lot about me this way any way. So, good for you!

Mmkay... back to my name story. Mami decides she wants to correct every one of my teachers beginning from Preschool to High School telling them my name is spelled with two Ls! Can you imagine? Therefore, I didn't get to know about my name change until I saw my social security card for the first time. I was appalled to say the least! Why would anyone do this?! I learned to write my signature with two Ls, some of my urban friends would call me Nelly-Nell. I loved My Name Damn it! Never in my worst nightmares would I imagine that Urban Dictionary would disappoint me! I love Urbandictionary.com ! Can you believe there was an Urban Dictionary definition for GINELLE but not for GINELE!!!! My whole life flashed before my eyes! .:First World Problems:. It wasn't at all this traumatic btw lol but I was just pretty shocked and annoyed. It

The spelling of my name still annoys me because I'm A BIT OCD but not enough for me to go through the process to change it. Notice the emphasis on "A BIT" Wayyyy too much hassle, I think. Besides it's still pronounced the same right! WRONG!! In college my name was Ginel-y (furious emoji) That really put the icing on the cake for me. (I'm not a big fan of icing) As if it's gets any better, I currently live in Dominican Republic so just when I thought it couldn't get worst, it effin did! They call me Gin-el-e!!!

Anyway, there's wayyy worst names out here so I'm not all that mad. My latin peeps understand! I'm just glad it's not one of those conjoined names; Luis and Paola had a baby, their baby's name has to be Luila! SMH. Has to be the worst made-up names ever! I'm 30 years old now and so I've learned to live with Ginele and all the different ways people pronounce it. If you can't figure it out just call me Gini. That's my name, don't wear it out!

IMG_6058.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @followmyjourney! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52