You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Last Night #1 - painting series based on zombies-game: prologue - 7pm - 8pm

in #art7 years ago

Just wanted to add: this is not an interactive game (which I have done with Nocturn and will gladly do again) but a series of paintings following the night of a zombie invasion.

This will be just a story in roundabout 6 or 7 episodes, as I don't have enough paintings on this subject to make a choose-your-own-adventure. If you do enjoy this, let me know in the comments, then I might go for another adventure-game in this subject & style.

Then again, I'm thinking of different subjects to paint and present a steemit-exclusive adventure game soon :) Leave a comment, much appreciated!

Sort:  

Unfortunately I am a WALKING DEAD fan (or I was until it moved to a paying channel) so that keeps plaguing my mind when I think zombies. It's hard to be original with that theme. Paintings are great, as always. I like third one with a little colour introduced. It really made the atmosphere of hiding from the zombies.

Thanks @deemarshall! What I find the most interesting in the zombie-genre is the anxiety - never knowing what's going to happen. The gore I couldn't care about.

While painting these I constantly listened to the movie Night of the Living Dead (not watching it though, as I didn't want to beinfluenced by the visuals). It was tense to paint but a fun experience :)

Maybe the gore wouldn't fit with your eye as I notice you usually paint in a monochrome style. He he, I can imagine you in costume too, painting so good.
Last night I watched the movie 'Personal Shopper' directed by Olivier Assayas. There is a fleeting scene where Maureen sees her twin's ectoplasm. It looks very similar to your interpretations in Nocturn.

Going to check that out, too, thank you! On a similar note, we watched Downton Abbey a few days ago and there was a shot - it lasted only a few seconds but was so striking in tone and atmosphere. Gotta keep your eyes open for these little gems :) thank you!

It's about 35 mins in to movie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49