Hygge – Enjoying The Present: Gratitude & Positivity Challenge Day 3

in #7daypositivitychallenge6 years ago (edited)

hygge.png

Hygge is Danish word used when acknowledging a moment or feeling, whether with friends or alone, at home or out, ordinary or extraordinary as cosy, charming or special.

As I look back on my day, I can picture my hygge snapshots. Wonderfully simple moments which seem so magnificent in their own special way.

I rose with my baby early this morning and all was quiet. I crept around the house as not to wake my husband and son and let them sleep longer. We sat and played while the sun rose over the mountain at the end of our garden and then I made a big batch of pancakes for us all.

babymumma.jpg

My son's face when I left him at his first day of summer school earlier and he didn't know anyone. Running into my arms for reassurance, a stroke of his hair and a touch of his cheek. Letting him know all will be ok. He turns to go and smiles a new smile, my boy is growing up... I take my “hygge” snapshot.

The giggle of my baby girl bouncing under the orange tree, the sunlight in her hair, the dimples in her cheeks. The undulating folds of cherubic skin on her legs which spring up and down in the patch of grass that has been trampled down under her happy feet.

babymum.jpg

The beautiful home cooked stew made by my husband that tasted so nourishing and delicious. We all ate every last drop in our bowls, the sound of clinking spoons and slurping lips made me smile.

stew.jpg

Snuggled up reading my sons bedtime story I felt so connected to him again. We come together like we always have every night and share open and loving conversation. He wanted to sleep with the book we read, he loved it so much. There's barely enough room in his bed as he forms so many connections with things – stones, drawings, keepsakes – all special mementos of his day.

bedtimestory.jpg

Hygge only requires a conscious appreciation, a certain slowness, and the ability to not just be present – but recognise and enjoy the present.

“For there is never anything but the present, and if one cannot live there, one cannot live anywhere.” Alan Watts

BIG love,
Star xx


7 day gratitude & positivity challenge

What are the rules of this challenge?

-Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)

-Try and do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.

-Mention three people who you would like to take on this challenge

-Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

-Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible).

I nominate @metzli @wildwonderer and @mumma-monza to take up the challenge if they so wish.

Steemit logo.jpg

tribe-steemup-member-banner.jpg

steemitmastermindgroupbanner.png

steemitmamas.png

Sort:  

Thank you for your post. :) I have voted for you: 🎁! To call me just write @contentvoter in a comment.

🤖 Congratulations! You've been featured in the newest @SMG co-curators digest. Thanks for being one of our cherished members. See how much our mastermind appreciates you and your work here:

https://steemit.com/music/@smg/smg-digest-or-mental-illness-appreciate-emotions-steemshop-finding-solitude-and-hygge

Yeay! Thanks wonderful community of @smg xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33