Gratitude Challenge 3: This Temple of Mine

I am starting to feel a shift in my life, it's small but it's there. By committing to the 7 Day Positivity Challenge that @mariannewest kindly invited me to, I have had to sit down and really identify all these wonderful things I have been taking for granted. This world has become so filled with hatred that we can easily get swept away in negativity. Let's start a shift together and start sharing our blessings instead.

BodyPhoto courtesy of Julia James. This is me about 34 weeks pregnant with the mini renegades.

About ten years ago I made a decision to start taking better care of myself. When I was in college I became so dedicated to excelling in my studies that I let my health fall by the wayside. I ate poorly, I didn't exercise, I stayed up late, and I worked hard. The freshmen fifteen is a real thing and it caught up with me fast. My first real job out of college was as a designer with a sporting company. On a weekly basis I would read inspirational stories sent in to the magazine about how people had changed their lives and I became motivated to change mine too. I began running with a friend, then I tried swimming, bought a bike, did a couple of sprint triathlons, and eventually started lifting weights. Being regularly active gave me confidence, and made me feel strong and capable.

I am grateful for my body.

At eleven months postpartum, I have a hard time looking at my body. For a while, I felt so much shame for not having bounced back the way I expected I would or should. I jiggle, I sag, and I don't even recognize myself in the mirror. I can't lift what I used to, and my endurance is almost non-existent. Who have I become?

A mom. I have become a mom, and that's amazing. When I am feeling blue about my new body, I look at my twins sweet faces and I remind myself that I grew two human beings simultaneously and that's pretty badass, if you ask me. For 38 weeks, my body housed these two tiny beings. It provided a safe space, nourishment, comfort, and so much love. For the past 11 months this body has continued to be their safe space, filled with love, comfort, and nourishment. So I might be a little more squishy than I once was, but my kids love cuddling my soft spots, and they adore my sunken in belly button, it actually sends them into the silliest giggles. Plus, I've been busy raising these incredible human beings so, no, I haven't been to the gym. Just because I am jiggly now, doesn't mean I have to be this way forever either. I have seen how capable my body can be in the gym, and growing humans. This body has done so much for me, and it's amazing.

You've Been Nominated

@lovenfreedom
@steemitcountry
@steemitnatural

The rules:

  • Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.)
  • Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.

Canadian renegade Logo


Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.

Sort:  

the extraordinary struggle of a mother, may you be blessed

Thank you. -Aimee

not all can understand what you mentioned my friend, only us who have become mother who can understand all struggle of mother ,, he he he

We are so conditioned to only find one kind of body beautiful. I am so glad that you are embracing your mommy body. And as you said, things will change again. pretty soon, you will be doing a lot of running after those little dudes :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Wow this challenge is so inspirational @canadianrenegade, but I will not be able to follow because I won't be able to write every day.

Thank for for letting me know. I wanted to nominate you because you have such a great outlook on life. If your unable to post every day though, I don't want you to feel obligated or burdened. Thanks for stopping by. -Aimee

I am SOOOO glad you wrote this!!!! It is very uplifting and well written! Too many of us get caught up in how different we look and forget the amazing journey our bodies just took. Rejoice in the beauty of life! I told my OBGYN @ 6 weeks postpartum that I figured it took me 9 months to make her and it would probably be twice that long before I resemble myself again. I was right - I am just now starting to feel like myself again! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you, I am glad this resonated with you.

Too many of us get caught up in how different we look and forget the amazing journey our bodies just took. Rejoice in the beauty of life!

Yes! 100% what you said!

I am so grateful that there are so many initiatives shining a light on body positivity for women. I am not sure if you've ever heard of 4thtribodies on instagram but they share photos of real women, and real postpartum bodies at all shapes, sizes, and stages. Knowing that my body is totally normal, especially on the days that it feels so foreign to me is uplifting. -Aimee

I was not aware, I am also not on INSTA yet! * makes ashamed face * so glad women are showing what real life looks like!

Don't be ashamed! I think it's great when people are able to refrain from social media. I got on because I did marketing but I fell into the black hole of social media for a while. It can be a huge time waster. Even if you don't have an account I think you can still search their instagram page and see what's up. I give those ladies a huge kudos for putting it all out there. -A

I just spent the last few years on drudge mainly so now I have a facebook and this steemit account. I'm trying to branch out since now it seems 90% of my conversations are with my little 😂

Ha ha ha! Don't I know it! And then when you finally have another grown up to talk to you find yourself searching for adult words. Hello brain, have you atrophied yet? -Aimee

Hahaha this is so funny and true for me

they adore my sunken in belly button, it actually sends them into the silliest giggles

My babies like to push on it while it was popped out. They like to push on it still now that it's a belly pond. It makes them giggle when I make my tummy jiggle and make the belly button talk.

Our bodies are wonderful and the only thing I'm blue about is I can't keep up with getting new clothes. I'm losing some of the fat now and I don't want to spend the money to get new clothes I'm not going to be able to wear when I shrink some more.

I love that our kids love our bodies. I hope we can teach our boys to see the beauty in the body of a mother so their wives feel supported and teach our girls that it's ok that our bodies change, especially after doing something so miraculous!

I agree with the clothes trouble. I don't fit any of my pants or shorts from before babies (except my stretchy running shorts) but am too stubborn to spend money on new clothes. -Aimee

We're two stubborn mamas. And I completely agree with teaching our children how to love our bodies and the changes. We can teach them by example so my husband shows the children how he appreciates mama. We hug infront of the children which is something I haven't seen my parents did.

I don't exercise, but there will be a time when we can all go for walks and work outside more often. That'd be my exercise. Heck carrying the baby is like a workout already.

Yes, parents leading by example is so important. I also think knowing they can be both affectionate and strong is important; it doesn't have to be one or the other. At night we do family songs, snuggles, hugs and kisses and I love it. I think they do too. Ha ha ha! Carrying and chasing babies *definitely8 counts as exercise. -Aimee

So sweet! That is funtastic! Yes, I have my fair share of exercise. I'm pretty buffed on the shoulders and arms :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64