Lego Head! Making a box full of them!

in #3d6 years ago

Making The Lego Head

I saw this image posted by the BBC I think on G+ or somewhere else (can't remember) and thought "That looks cool, I should model that".


The Process

I used blender 2.6x at the time. I modeled one lego head then used a particle emitter to drop as many as i can into an empty box, making sure there wasn't too many in the scene that will make my simulation and render times long. Just wanted to do something quick.

A few years back blender was criticized a lot for not being a good 3d modelling/rendering application but I disagree. It has its pros and cons like any other software, but due to it being totally FREE software, it depends on it's community (who are very dedicated) to keeping it up to date. But it gotten a lot better over time like most software out there.


Final Render

Had a few issues while modeling and using the shader, but came out just fine. Added a little bit of grain too, just because lol. Below is the final render. I used blender cycles to render and GIMP to touch it up.



Thanks for reading this. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post HERE

You can find my other socials on:
Twitter | Instagram

follow.jpg

Sort:  

Looks interesting. :)

Thanks!.. got a few more random pieces like this I will upload soon.

Congratulations @alka.lin3! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66