The Greenhouse in the Sky

in #365daysofwriting6 years ago (edited)

U5dtCzLzbPPySBtcgNKRSh3be6PgrNZ_1680x8400.jpg

I used the photo above as the prompt for a short story on Day 110 of the 365 days of writing challenge by @mydivathings.

I hope you like this flight of fancy.

Photo by Hamish Duncan on Unsplash.


I left Hamish in the bed at the hospital. The endless tubes, wires, and monitors took their toll until anxiety took my breath from me. I ran from the room, out the door, and far from the discouraging faces of my family. I finally took in fresh air when I arrived at his cottage. Hamish loved the countryside and made his home in the simple two bedroom stone building. In his front yard, the wreck of the main house. Scrambled stones marked old walls destroyed by a tank shell in the war long ago. He lived in the guesthouse behind it, which had become the house away from the road.

I placed my keys in a dish by the door and wandered into the kitchen. A broken plate lay near the table where it had fallen when Hamish slipped and hit his head. The sharp pieces of ceramic poked my fingers as I picked them up. I took a water bottle from the refrigerator before moving to the greenhouse.

Not more than a lean to with a glass roof and sides, the greenhouse offered a warm place to think. Hamish loved the room and often sat with his thoughts. No one bothered him in the greenhouse. The warm sun, errant plants, and the smell of soil made it the perfect place to write, paint, or think.

I needed to think about what would happen to Hamish? He was nearly 90 years old and couldn’t live here by himself anymore. But where would he go? His brother died two years ago and his parents died in the war. He often talked about his childhood home: a magical place with a bright sun, fresh grass, white horses, and red billowing flags. I looked at the wreck of the main house. It must have been quite a place where Hamish grew up.

Sunset turned the brick wall a bright orange. The greenhouse darkened in the afternoon shadows. Yet, in the far corner of the room a bright light shot out of the floor. Odd, I thought. The beam of light touched the roof of glass creating a rainbow in the reflection. I went closer to where the light shot out of the floor.

The light leaked out of a small hole and when I moved away a stone I saw a grass promenade below me. It seemed as though I was looking down from the sky and I looked around the greenhouse to make sure it was real. Below me, a small parade of ladies finery rode white horses. Following them, knights dressed in blue rode tall black horses. The parade marched toward a large castle with billowing flags, a drawbridge, and mote. I drew closer to the hole and reached through in an attempt to touch the castle.

I felt a force pull me into the hole and I began falling. Above me only sky with clouds floating where the hole had been. Below me, an approaching expanse of green grass, the castle, and the parade of knights and ladies. I tumbled around like a stick doll and waited for the eventual crash.

I shut my eyes tight and prayed for a quick death. I felt a breeze under my arms and I began to slow down until I rested in a field of clover. I opened my eyes and jumped up off the grass.

“Steady boy,” said a voice. “You might fall after such a long sleep.”

I looked behind me to find a much younger Hamish standing on the grass. He wore a tunic, brown boots, and a sash around his waist.

“You look ready for the feast,” said Hamish. “Shall we go?”

I offered the younger Hamish a puzzled face. “Where are we?”

“Why we’re at the Festival of Exvius and you’re the honored guest.”

 

Sort:  

This post was upvoted and resteemed by And upvote service @okankarol
Thank you for using @okankarol

The service will be completed within 15 minutes.

Nice, very visual and it flowed very smoothly!

You got a 1.92% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @wordymouth!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Like the story.....please write more

I have been trying to take my main character through the "looking glass" without duplicating Alice. I may have found a way and there is a whole adventure waiting. ;-)

I'm looking forward to more. The lion, the witch and the wardrobe did the same and it turned out great. Keep it up.

Nice story from that oh-so-inspiring photo! :-)

Congratulations @wordymouth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51