Chromosphere Land, 30 Day Haiku Challenge and Colourful Photography

I took this picture on Vancouver's English Bay Beach. The sky was spectacular, but I find my phone can never capture the true colour of its beauty. It gets close, but the hues generally elude digital grasp. But then a little fun can be had trying to recreate from memory with editing. Competing with nature is not a easy feat, but sometimes, something spectacular is uncovered nonetheless.

Scroll down for the haiku and notes.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 3.02.16 PM.jpg

chromosphere landed
fi're in the morning sky
sailors have no fear

Notes on the haiku ... the chromosphere is a layer of the sun's atmosphere and fire here is given an apostrophe to note it should receive two syllable counts. Assumed it is yelled. The haiku itself is a play off the old rhyme 'Red sky at night, Sailors delight, Red in the morning, sailor's warning.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #colourfulphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Friday.

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 17:57:35
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 23.25/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 13
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Beautiful view

It was, thank you:)

This is more than colorful! I'm trying to accommodate myself with haiku...

In general terms it is a short poem about nature with three lines and a syllable count of 5-7-5. But from a craft point of view, it is meant to be about a shift in perspective. It is really metaphor writing. Contrast is also a sign of good haiku ... this is usually accomplished with a pivot line. In this case the ocean sky is compared to being on fire but the sailors are not concerned because the fire is one of beauty.

Thank you for the explanation, very nice and interesting. Pryde pronounced himself as pride? I don't know if my question is correct! If I'm wrong, please forgive me.

Yes ... that is how you say me name ... it is a welsh spelling. Although I do not know myself to be Welsh.

I wanted to do a word game, but it's hard and dangerous to do this in a language that I do not know well. I meant that when I say Pryde this can be understood ... pride; flower?

It is an English surname usually but it is used for girls in my family as a first and middle name. My mom is named it as well and my niece has it as a middle name. Think as in Pride and Joy. My aunt's middle name is joy.

It is a beautiful name!

That is quite a photo! It's like a flame in reverse with that deep blue on the outside. That must have been one amazing day if it started like that!!!

I did get the two syllable fi're thing before you explained it. I feel pretty proud of myself. ;)

LOL ... I am like that too ... haiku is funny business. People can get oddly combative over the syllable count ... some say 17 syllables exactly and others say less the 17 syllables. I always try to cover my basis. One never knows when the haiku police is on the prowl:)

No kidding!

People need to chill
Feel the creativity
Breathe, go with the flow

There you go...no pivotal line, metaphor or nature but, doggonit, it's 5-7-5! (I didn't mean for doggonit to be combative ;) )

LOL ... on another site I frequented we call the non-nature haiku senryu. Love me my senryu too:)

Ah, I did not know that. Thanks for teaching me something new.

No worries. Hope you are having a good night in your travels through Steemit:)

I think I have hit the end of the road for today. Time to snooze! Hope your first week is going well. I see your reputation number is soaring! Good for you!!!

Thank you:) I am not far behind you in sleep. Just enjoying some poetry and photos before bed time. My first few days have been lovely. Meeting a lot of great people, reading wonderful poetry and looking at pretty pictures. What could be better? Have a good night:)

This is such a fun haiku! I read it, then saw your notes, including the bit about it being yelled, and reread it with that in mind and it really made me smile, it works so well! :)

Thank you, Calluna. Really pleased it made you smile:)

Wow, I absolutely love the photo and the haiku! Haikus are a really great form, but I tend to find them a bit "tricky" because of the rigid form - but you make it seem just so easy and natural in the best sense, perfect!

I think of them as a way to stay in poetic form. Fun with metaphor:) Thank you, STR:)

We used to joke around to see who cranks up the saturation more. For a while @dswigle was the queen but now I see there is competition LOL!!! Nice shot :)

LOL ... I know but it worked so nicely on this one ... I had to keep it. Not just saturation ... I think chrome was involved too:):):)

So true. No matter how hard we try, the photos we capture will never be the same as that in person. Thank you so much for this image and for your haiku! Don't forget to include #thirtydayhaikuchallenge as one of your tags. Thanks @prydefoltz!

Nice little play on words there, I like it!
I also quite like that beach there, are you a fellow Vancouverite?

I sometimes wish I could just take a picture with my eyes as I see it, and somehow upload it to the net.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44