This should not happen to anyone..

in #2fa6 years ago (edited)

I am really thankful @tygertyger in so many ways. She wrote on my behalf and I received a lot of funds from the kind souls on Steemit.
I request those who read this to kindly help her in any way you can. She really needs a lot of help and I am sure that you can do it. She is the kindest person I have ever come across.

SOS we need HELP!-Pupdate and Catcalls


Coming back to the title, I decided to help and send her a small amount of steem. I then decided to transfer the steem I got from friends to my bittrex account.
Then reality slapped my face hard

My phone had crashed a few days back and I had it reformatted.
I could have disabled the 2fa google authenticator for my accounts but I forgot.
I could have searched for the backup keys I had written down and then reformatted my phone but I forgot.
I could have saved the keys online but I just did not bother.

Fact is the paper I had written the keys down went missing when during the flood, we had put away things in a hurry. I had forgotten about it.



Now I am paying the price.


I tried searching online for a solution but they only have solutions which techies call ROOT and I cannot even understand any of it.

Anyway, I wrote to @bittrex support and they requested a few things like selfie with name and ID, latest transactions details, IP address. I send it but because my mobile camera is not great, they have requested it again and the process is going on.

I have only myself to blame.

Please be double careful and do not make such mistakes like me. Disable google authenticator while you can or else make sure you can enable another mobile as well in case the original crashes or is stolen.
tips

  • write your passwords down in a) paper b) mail to yourself c) anywhere else you feel is safe and will not be forgotten
  • search for other 2fa sources other than Google like Authy
  • make sure to login to accounts at least every few weeks so that the accounts are not disabled due to inactivity
  • before formatting a device, make sure to check you have backed up data and disabled apps such as google authenticator
I sure hope my bittrex account is enabled again and also pray that our Indian crypto exchanges can be approved by the government.

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://sayee.vornix.blog/2018/10/24/this-should-not-happen-to-anyone/

Sort:  

<3 thank you love <3 Sorry about your account :(

welcome dear

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited-bot community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sayee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60