100-words story contest. This entry "Mind" This Episode: A Killer Mind.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #100words8 years ago (edited)

A Killer Mind.

“A complete murder mystery in 100 words? It can’t be done,” Janet said.

Starting with her thumb she counted, “A killer, a body, interesting characters, with an investigator asking questions . . . in 100 words? No way,” she added.

I was typing, “And the reader will know who-done-it.” I looked at her and mused, “I can only hope they cheer.”

“ What's in that mind of yours?” She voiced.

“I’m almost done.” I sang.

Janet rolled her eyes. girl from the big island..jpg

“The writing is complete!” I announced.
Rising, I asked, “ . . . do you have any final questions before I strangle the investigator?”

///

Image source: Henry Gant's Art

Sort:  

Many Congratulations, you have been awarded First Place in this week's contest and 10 steem have been transferred to your account. Please contact the guys at Steem Trail to claim your 400 Trail. They need your Open Ledger Account details.
Thank you for taking part and I hope that you will enter again next week.

Great work again with Janet! Ugh! I love your stories @henry-gant!

Thank you, @krizia. I'm glad she was there, the story would not be complete without her.

Really good work! A funny thing - I C&P every story into one doc with Title URL, etc. I stopped at 'I sang.' owing to the image.
It is almost better - the suspense is there.
You are three words over anyway!!! Haha.
Just a thought - you are a very talented writer - thanks for your enthusiasm.
Namaste.

I'm curious, I count 100 words. Are contractions counted as two words? Is the number 100 counted as One-hundred? Again two words? Just so I don't make that mistake again. Thanks.

Sorry for the tardiness - been busy! What I do is highlight the entire story in a Word document. At the bottom of the page it tells me how many words I have in that highlighted area - much easier! I am not trying to police anything and have no intent to be legalistic over 3 words!

Thank you for the response. I smile because I do count each word. I will concede that an auto-count will add the contraction as two words. I will make the adjustment in future writings.
Busy is the word for this week.

The app Word document is very helpful. Easy to work with.

Congratulations on you first place!! Success in future competitions!

Thank you @inna-yatsuk.
I hope to see your next entry soon.

Write stories, I will not. I have it bad, English is not my native. I will review Your wonderful story)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61739.92
ETH 2432.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65