My entry to the 100 Word Story ConteststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #100words7 years ago

“Dearly beloved…”
That voice droned on and on as the preacher ignored me pointedly. I sat as far from the front as I could without exiting the church, debating this unthinkable thing that I needed to do. An old woman hissed her contempt at me and I felt nothing. Nothing new at least. My cup of sorrow was full to the brim with a feeling of loss so all-encompassing that no new pain could break through. My mind was made. I didn’t wait for the preacher to ask. I stood boldly and I stated my peace.
“I object.”


Thanks for reading! Upvotes, follows, comments and resteems are appreciated!

photo credit: HIRO 廖 see love via photopin (license)

Sort:  

Many Congratulations, you have been awarded Second Place in this week's contest and 6 steem have been transferred to your account. Please contact the guys at Steem Trail to claim your 200 Trail. They need your Open Ledger Account details.
Thank you for taking part and I hope that you will enter again next week.

Many thanks! I'll definitely enter again.

Great! I enjoyed your story very much. The stories are very well received on various FB groups especially - there is always a nice comment or two.
You should try your hand at the limerick contest too - there are a few funnies in there

I entered the first round of the limerick contest but I'm not sure if I'll have time this week. If I can spare a moment I'll enter this round too

What I find so warming about this message is that you know that I really do know who writes and who writes regularly and I notice when they are missing ... it matters! Your message shows me that you care too.
The more community we have the better. Do you mind if I use your comment as an example? I think it is a message which needs to be heard!
Namaste.

Thank you! And of course, you can use it. It might sound sentimental but the community is the most powerful thing we have right now.

It does sound a little sentimental but it is the only glue we have right now and much as you and I both clearly value it for what it is ... the powers that be need to be reminded of it. Thank you ... as sincerely as I can convey across this reply.

I appreciate that sincerity. It’s easy to think of myself as just a minnow but knowing that what I say makes an impact makes me want to say more. So, thank you for that.

Really cool story @elementm - I felt it!
One question, at the end, was it peace or piece - piece is more apt in the context is why I ask?
Well worked story, thank you
Namaste.

Thank you! I'll be honest, as I was writing it, I debated writing it as 'piece' instead. I meant it to sort of preempt the preacher's announcement to speak now or forever hold your peace (but there's some debate on that spelling too). If it ever turns into a full-length story, I'm still not sure which version I'll use.

There is something very rhythmical in this work.
It could almost become a rap as you get into the middle with the old woman hissing.
Just an observation as I revisited your post and re-read it through.
It gets better with reading!

I never thought of it that way! I'm a singer so sometimes my writing turns into lyrics without me realising until later. Maybe it'll become a spoken word piece. Thanks!

I could hear that!
Great entry. I could have used that at my wedding. lol

Thank you! Weddings are waaay to expensive for that though. People need to object during the engagement before the caterer gets paid etc! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69828.11
ETH 3825.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55