Zero Waste Frosh

in #zerowaste6 years ago (edited)

20180214_090652.jpg

One can never be totally zero waste but there are several means to avoid being a contributor to the overwhelming amount of pollutants that we currently have. My journey to being actually able to claim that I am a zero waste newbie started when I bought my first metal straw (with brush) from a student organization in my university. It only costs 50 pesos and I only bought it since I am a junkie for trying out new things for the sake of it. I was able to use it more than five times whenever I ate out with friends and I loved the thought of not wasting 5 single use plastic straws and the actual usage of it is somehow sending a message to other people because it's a new thing.

Then I lost my first metal straw because of my forgetfulness, I left it in my glass when we dined in KFC :(

The hunt for my second metal straw was a bliss. I found out that several start-ups are already into the business of selling them so I took the opportunity to buy in bundles (with discount because it was a holiday season and everyone gots em holiday promo) and I bought 7 sets of one bent straw (21.6 cm length, 6 mm diameter), milk tea straw (21.6 cm length, 12 mm diameter), one cleaning brush and a canvas pouch from Sip PH (https://sip.ph/). I gave the other 6 sets to my family as a Christmas gift.

Sip PH also sold bamboo spoon and fork and chopsticks, finding that out made me realize that there's a lot of other things I can invest on buying as I embark on being the ultimate zero waste gal ;) (of our family haha), I was then unstoppable. I bought my own metal food container, metal spoon and fork with chopsticks (both from Japan Home Centre). Found out that the spoon and fork set was cheaper (around 60 pesos) if you buy it from National Bookstore. Then I impulsively bought the cute cooler bag from a seller in UP Town. It was my 2nd zero waste product haul (but honestly I was just too excited to get onto my next job, have an actual office and be responsible for my own lunch). I got the plastic bottle (yes plastic huhuhu because metal water bottles are a bit pricey and I want one as tall as the one I bought) from Handyman and it was around 120 pesos.

Another really fulfilling purchase for me was when I decided to switch to cloth pads from disposable sanitary napkins. I bought 2 sets of one overnight (12"), one 10" and one 8" regular pad. All has bamboo charcoal pads. It costs 350 pesos per set and their designs were really cute and Ms. Angel Rodriguez of Ka Nami Cloth Pads was really kind and helpful. I was also able to buy a an on-the-go waterproof pouch for the pads for 150 pesos. You can shop through their FB page https://web.facebook.com/kanamicloths/?ref=br_rs

20180214_163142.jpg

Slowly I'm discovering more ways to be less of a problem to the environment. I found out that one new friend of mine was actually doing the same. And because of my purchases I was lead to other stores with sustainable products such as bamboo charcoal toothbrush, natural toners, toothpaste etc. Because of this zero wast craze I suddenly became surrounded by really helpful people online. I started learning a lot and I got brave enough to try things as well. I made my own cotton pads from an old face towel which I am currently using when applying my face toner.

20180214_172657.jpg

I am aware that these things that I've decided to do came with a price. It would require me time to take care of them but I think that's a good thing too as these were also a product of my desire to be more independent and responsible for my own things. I'm still far from being really zero waste. I still have my shampoo, conditioner and other beauty products' bottles but I'm really looking forward to becoming more and more less of a burden to the environment. I hope you decide to take these steps too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77