You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The 'Innovating To Zero' Initiative

in #zero5 years ago

This is very good food for thought!
I'll have to read the whole article, but at first glance it sounds as ridiculous as the famous article that predicted "The End of History" after the collapse of the Soviet Empire.
I agree with your view on a "zero world". One "zero" that is rarely discussed is "zero computer waste". Computer waste is a mounting environmental catastrophe, not to mention the unsustainability of the rare earth materials that are required to make lithium ion batteries. Yet the big tech companies spare no energy in trying to make their tech devices redundant as quickly as possible.
Personally speaking, I think "zero government" might be a good thing :)

Sort:  

Thanks for stopping by and leaving a thoughtful comment. I found the article thought-provoking even though I am not in full agreement with all of the points.

Your zero waster computer example is a prime example of two sides wanting two very different things.

In regards to zero government, that is a tough one for me. I see value in limited government. There are systems that are can be aided by centralization if done properly. The important thing is that honest, kind people should rule, and as we often see, once people are in positions of powers, their kindness and honesty fade away.

Actually I agree with you about zero government. That's why I put a smiley after my comment because it was only partially meant. Sometimes I feel like getting rid of the whole self-serving lot of them, but having studied History at university I know that power vacuums usually bring no good at all. I think it's up to all of us to take more responsibility, and to keep checks on what our so-called leaders are really getting up to!

Sorry. I guess I misinterpreted the meaning of the smiley emoji. Thanks for all of the great dialogue. I appreciate it.

No need to apologise! I also enjoy discussing these issues, so thanks for a thought-provoking topic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66