Shades Of The Universe: My Entry For Zen Colouring Contest #3!

in #zencolouringcontest6 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemians!


I totally just stayed up until daybreak finishing this. But I think it's so worth it. This is my entry for @magiccleatus's Zen Colouring Contest #3!

"Shades Of The Universe"



giphy (5).gif


For some reason I have always viewed the dragonfly as a symbol of creation. I'm not entirely sure why. I did just finish taking a mythology class where I learned all about different creation myths. So I just went to research it, and there is an interesting Zuni myth about dragonflies if you want to check it out. For those of you who may not know, the Zuni are a Native American tribe in New Mexico. It's about why the red, white, and black dragonfly arrives in the Summer with the blooming of the corn. It's pretty neat! According to the Zuni myth, dragonflies arrive with the rains and are bringers of life and good health in the Spring and Summer!

I actually think this dragonfly is pretty fitting, because the patterns in it look like they could be Southwestern or Native - inspired patterns. This was the stencil @magiccleatus provided for us to color in!

dragonflystencil.png

So, yes, for some reason I have a fascination with dragonflies and galaxies. So once I saw the stencil, I had a pretty good idea of what I was going to do. My creation for this contest was actually partially inspired by one of my other designs- Dragonfly Galaxy Watercolour:

dragonfly.PNG
You can see this design on more products through my website!

I wasn't sure exactly where I was going to go with it, but I knew I definitely wanted to include the universe.

Actually- I wasn't planning on finishing the design this morning. I just wanted to play around with some different ideas I had. But, as many of you artists out there have probably experienced- I just kept creating! Lol, I couldn't stop. I just suddenly had so many good ideas that just kept on coming. When this happens, I have learned to just kind of work with the flow.

So here I am, 6:49 AM, still awake. Lol.

So, why give you a little insight into the process I used to make it?

I used Photoshop to make the GIF. Well, I used Photoshop to make the images for the GIF, and then actually put the GIF together using Giphy.

The first thing I did was make several "galaxy" patterns. I actually achieved this using a bit of a paint-splatter effect- which I think works well as both! I made a small canvas, and clicked EDIT > DEFINE PATTERN:

zenprocess1.PNG

Then I was able to fill the segments of the pattern in with my own galaxy patterns with the Paint Bucket Tool.
zenprocess2.PNG

Then after my first galaxy pattern, I kept changing the hue by going to IMAGE > ADJUSTMENTS > HUE/SATURATION. I kept altering the hue and saving the colors I liked to fill the pattern in with.
zenprocess3.PNG

Next, after I had all of the segments filled, I made a background. Essentially I did this the same why I made the patterns, just on a bigger canvas with a larger brush.
zenprocess5.PNG

Then I did with the dragonfly what I did with the patterns- I kept adjusting the hue. I actually just started this playing around to see if there was a color combination I liked better. But as I slid the little slider, I thought the way the colors changed was really pretty! So I saved each image in the exact order as the colors on the hue slider, and uploaded them to Giphy after applying a filter gallery effect to brighten it up a little.
zenprocess6.PNG

And here again, is the final product:

giphy (5).gif

The featured color of the week this week is Purple--- which is actually the color I voted for too! When I first began this I did plan on filling it only with different shades of purple. However as I decided to change the colors, I began to interpret the purple in a different way. As the colors change from the cooler tones to the warmer tones, I feel like the purple is what bridges them together. In other words, the purple brings the opposite ends of the color spectrum together (red and blue) to allow the colors to change more gracefully. Am I rambling? Did I mention I haven't slept yet?

Anyway, I am VERY pleased and proud of this outcome. Like I said-- this wasn't my plan. But I've also learned you can't really control the creative process.

What are your thoughts, steemians? I would love to hear your opinions in the comments! I am also thinking of making this into a collection, with each different color being a new design. What are your thoughts?

steemit_signature.jpeg

For more feel free to check out my website!

Also, I am working on launching my own web design business. As a student building my portfolio I can give you a really great deal on a website. If you or anyone you know needs a website feel free to contact me! Will accept payments in STEEM :)

Until next time,

~Zoey

1 unfucker badge.jpg

Sort:  

WOW! Pretty stiff competiton... :) Nice job! Very neat story! Good luck!!!
1 unfucker badge.png

Thanks @erinn! :) Are you entering again this week??

I am if I can get it completed in time! I don't know if you even can get into the top 3 two weeks in a row, but I will try my best to enter in time because It's a fun contest and I think @magiccleatus has a great idea going on here! People enjoy it!

This is not only beautiful to the eyes. It’s energetically beautiful ✨

Thank you! I'm glad that you like it! 💖

Wow you have truly outdone yourself this week! You took the stencil in a great direction. Those crazy long creative stints often produce the best work ;) love it!

Thank you! And yes, they do! :D

Excited to see what you come up with this week as well!

Wow this is so beautiful and you put so much work into it! Wasn’t this a fun Zen pattern to do? I checked out your blog and seen you were a newbie to steemit. And read your introduceyourself post, awsome post I see we have a lot in common. So glad your here! And also I’m so blessed you’ve talked about bees 🐝. My husband and I live in Iowa and have been beekeepers for several years, there’s a lot to it. A very hard winter last year killed off our lovely bees, as well as many other beekeepers friends hives, sad. One year we received 200lbs of honey off one hive. That’s some busy bees. The Queens are very pricey, so we couldn’t afford a hive this year.One of Gods most amazing creatures. Without bees, less pollination, food,air! Welcome to Steemit, keep spreading the love ❤️ that’s my philosophy to and good luck with the contest!

Hi @lildebbiecakes! Thank you for your wonderful comment!

I absolutely love this pattern! I've always been fascinated with dragonflies and the shimmery colors on their wings!

Yours is absolutely beautiful too, you can tell you've also put a lot of hard work in!

That's so cool you are a beekeeper! I would love to look into that some day. I think bees are fascinating little creatures and they do so much for the environment. I love honeybees! I've heard that even with the bee suites you get stung sometimes, is this true? Fun fact: one time I had a wasp go into my ear and it never stung me! It was terrifying though, lol.

Thanks again for your awesome comment and feedback :D Following you and looking forward to interacting with you more on here and good luck with the contest! :)

Gorgeous work! I feel connected to dragonflies, too. For me, they bring a feeling that good changes are coming. Here's a photo I took with my phone and shared on my blog today. I like your pillow design!
animal.dragonfly1.jpg

Awesome! Thank you for sharing this and for your wonderful comment!

Following you and looking forward to interacting more with you in this amazing community :D

Love the end result! And it makes such a difference in appreciating the work you've created by showing us how you did that, step by step! Lol and you're not rambling at all, knows what feels like when you try to finish something, no matter how late it is. Who needs sleep right? Thank you for sharing this zoey:)

Thank you! Yes, lol I find most often my most creative ideas come at night time. :)

Amazing! I love that you created separate galaxy patterns, changing the hue along the way, to use to colour in the dragonfly :D

Brilliant stuff! Thanks for your entry!

I just made a link to a downloadable version of my GIF- here it is if you need it for when you make a post of all of the entries :) (copy paste it with the https, I just had to separate it since it wouldn't show up in this post.)
https: //www.dropbox.com/s/audw9t9fh2ez688/giphy%20%285%29.gif?dl=0\

ZCacceptedentrySmall.pngENTRY ACCEPTED!!

Please name the colour you'd pick for next week's featured colour!

Oh yes! Sorry about that, I wasn't all the way awake when I made this post lol. For the featured color, I would probably pick indigo!

ZCawardTINY3rdbronze.png3rd place, Congratulations!!


Your prize should be in your wallet!

That's awesome, thank you!

Congratulations @zoeyartanddesign! I’m blessed you won, you worked so hard on this piece, you deserved to win this. I’ll be watching for more of your beautiful artwork friend. I find this contest very enjoyable, so I’m waiting for @magiccleatus to post his next design with anticipation! Bless you.

Thank you so much! And congratulations to you, too! It is an amazing contest, and I am excited to see what you do in the future, too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87