Zcash Mining - My Experience

in #zcash8 years ago


I couldn't resist doing a mining test on Zcash considering the pricing started out so high initially and there was so much talk about it recently. If you guys have been following my blog for awhile you will know I have done a lot of mining in the past. This has included CPU, GPU, and ASIC mining. I sold out basically all of my GPU equipment in 2015 before the rise of Ethereum mining. I still have an 8 core Xeon processor that would be able to do a mining test on Zcash. Basically when I first set up the test Zcash was still worth over $1000 / coin but sinking.

One of the reasons I don't like mining contracts is they are way too long typically. Six months is an eternity in crypto-currencies and a lot of these contracts are for a year. Really what it boils down to it the sellers of the mining contracts have a very short window to try to market contracts that are enticing to an end user. They are often just selling a power spread. Let's say they have $0.04 / kilowatt hour power. Well they are basically selling an end user $0.10+ kilowatt hour power essentially. Obviously the end user doesn't have the money wrapped up in the equipment but it reminds me of buying an option vs buying a stock. With a stock you can sell it if the price goes down but with these mining contracts they just feel like a wasting asset. With mining equipment you can sell it if the mining doesn't work out. That is why I feel like GPU mining makes the most sense for small to mid size mining operations. At least the GPUs can be used for gaming and graphic design.

Right now I don't have a GPU that was going to work to do the test but I do have the 8 core Xeon and the algorithm that Zcash uses is called Equihash. My Xeon processor could do about the same work that 1 good GPU could do. I was getting 7.2 H/s which was close to the Genesis Mining contract of 7.5 H/s for $280 for the year. See if I would have bought that and then the price of Zcash has fallen to $250. The thing with Zcash is that I'm not so sure it isn't a scam at this point. @fluffypony who is a very respected developer for Monero has been talking smack about Zcash on Twitter. It is kind of funny and he is probably right. He always seems to be right.

I was profiting about $1 / day but then the price tanked and a lot of people had bought the mining contracts so the difficulty is still pretty high. I decided to pull the plug on the operation and ultimately I only was able to cash out $2 and I spent about $10 on power.

STEEM is going to switch to Equihash soon and this was a good test for me to get ready for that. I will have to jump on it immediately because there will be others that will turn a lot more hashing power toward it than I have right now.

One more note. I'm using OpenSuSE LEAP 42.1 and if you are mining with nheqminer and you are trying to build the miner there are guides for Ubuntu. The equivalent of the Ubuntu Build essentials can be achieved in OpenSuSE with "sudo zypper install -t pattern devel_basis"

Once again mining is tough and crypto is volatile so despite the fact that I love mining it is tough to make a good profit unless you have low cost or free power and really are on top of your calculations.

In a later post I want to talk about the potential for a solar crypto mining setup utilizing DIY Tesla power walls and solar panels. Good luck if you are trying to mine Zcash!

Sort:  

Im mining with the NiceHash miner. Til now works well, now that Zcash is in downtrend I get 2,10$

It is interesting how Zcash started out so high. I feel like some people were manipulating the market a little bit by putting in some sell orders super high and then going and buying at that high price to create an artificially high price point to start out with. We will see what happens overtime and if the tech is really revolutionary.

Honestly, til now I see it just as a "pump and dump" coin. Have seeing some like Zcash and it is always the same... I went into mining just because of "greed" :D the prices where really crazy as you say hehehehe. We will see what happens, would be amazing if it turns out to be a true tech but...

Thanks looking forward to your solar mining post .now thats interseting

Yeah I talked to a friend a couple years ago about it that is in the solar industry and it didn't seem close to being practical but now that people have started using batteries out of old laptop batteries and making these power walls then it could possibly work if certain things fell into place and you were in the right areas. Arizona receives a lot of sun and so do places in Australia. Suddenly it becomes more plausible. But it would take A LOT of these.

You are back :-)
I was thinking about building solar powered mining farm if I only I had my own house :-)

Yeah I was watching the election stuff last night and it was taking forever so I decided to put up a post about the Zcash mining and what my plan was going forward. I have mainly been letting my bot run and have been watching from a distance.

Well, it is nice to see you posting here even occasionally :-)

wish i got in on that zcash earrrrrrly@!

It still is early but there are a lot of questions surrounding the entire thing and some of the tweets from @fluffypony have been humorous.

A quality post, as always! Great to see your blog on my feed again.

Yeah I have been mainly letting my bot run and keeping my distance but I was watching the election stuff last night and it was taking forever so I decided to put this post up. I will surely check back in to see how Steem Fest went and also right when Equihash gets implemented for STEEM I want to jump on that at least for a couple of days to see the results.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.54 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 09 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you for the information!

Since Monday the 31st I've been mining through NiceHash on my work machine(s). It's just a couple of older i5 2400s machines. I've managed to make about 10 bucks or so thus far, but it's not something I'd be doing with my computer at home.

I'd actually really love to get more into mining, but I can't justify the upfront expense to my wife at all... maybe some day.

Mining is a lot of fun and I was in a situation where I was able to put over $15,000 into mining a couple of years ago but things turned from "This is a no brainer" to "Oh Shit" real fast. The one thing I did right is stick with GPU rigs. That way you have an exit plan. Asics become paper weights and about the only way those make sense is if you are in China pulling them off the line and popping them in a warehouse with super low cost power or if you have a free power situation somehow. I would love to get back into mining on a very large scale but I would need investors to back me and be able to survive the crypto down turns. I had a 3 year time horizon with my GPU rigs but only survived 1.5 years before I had to sell them. I couldn't run them profitably so the equipment was sitting. Sad story. But if a person had $0.04 / kilowatt hour power or lower and was able to survive 5 to 10 years and be very strategic I think it could be a profitable situation. Other things could help immensely. For instance if someone on the team had mad coding skills like whoever developed a GPU miner for STEEM. If you have that kind of talent on the team and had the money for the equipment you could really clean house. Because really when it boils down to it there are people running optimized miners that aren't publicly available. This went on with Monero for a long time. There was a Claymore miner and 5% of what was mined was going back to the developer who made the miner. That setup was also able to mine Bytecoin and all the other CryptoNote coins. That guy got rich no doubt about it. Props to him though. I wish I was that wicked smart.

Nice post. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. Estate or plastic cups, people should always do their research. due to the anonymity behind coins even more so. Personally I always use: https://www.coincheckup.com This site did all the research for you. It's truly amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50