3D Modeling Tutorial - Making the Hell Hound - Episodes 4.5 to 7 - More Z-Brush action)

in #zbrush8 years ago

This continues my videos showing how I create the Hell hound. This video is still in Z-Brush, though we are getting closer to when I'll be happy enough with the way it looks that we can move onto Substance Painter.

I am breaking this up into four different videos and will try to do some screen grabs and commenting between each one for those of you that prefer not to watch the videos.

Hell Hound model episode 4.5

Ear, and horn touch up. Full Z-Brush interface showing in this video. I usually hide it. I thought at least for the beginning I'd show it to you so those of you that may not have used Z-brush before will be able to tell there is a lot more to it.



Hell Hound model episode 5


This video we start out doing some touch up to the teeth and jaw area and then move onto the feet. The feet until this point not much had been done with.

And I continue to detail the front paws.



Hell Hound model episode 6

As you can see I often like returning to the head and face and adding even more detail there. The face is one of the parts players most identify with, so getting it as good as I can is important.

Where the flesh meets the horn is starting to become more defined.

Getting closer.

I put all this time trying to get the detail into the model with Zbrush because I can bake a lot of that detail out into a normal map (aka bump map) and use a lot less polys but still have really good detail.


Hell Hound Model episode 7

Detailing and texture roughening. I am adding all these little subtle details for the normal map.
And yes as is usual, I have to mess with the head and face some more. :)

Then I move onto adding more texture and details to other parts of the body that I have mostly not given a lot of this type of attention to yet.


It is getting closer. Obviously still have the back feet and a couple of other areas to work on. It is getting really close to the time to dive into Substance Painter and actually make this thing come visually alive. I of course will not go to that point until I am satisfied with this work.

I hope you enjoyed this. If you did I would appreciate your up vote. If you like 3d modeling and follow me that is predominantly what I will be posting about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61870.12
ETH 2401.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53