Dealing with Pain

in #zappl6 years ago (edited)

sadness-2723069_1280.jpg
Source

I used to be so scared of pain; of being heartbroken, of getting hurt, so I built a wall around heart to 'protect' myself.

From an early age, I took a liking to reading relationship books and magazines, and even though I fell in love with the love shared between two people in most of the romance stories I read, I instead, concentrated on the heartbreaks. "Man hurts woman" and "woman hurts man" became my favourite romance themes and I unconsciously gravitated towards these.

girl-517555_1280.jpg
Source

The result?

I developed a warped view of relationships, missed out on a lot of potentially beautiful relationship with peopke who couldnt deal with my extreme trust issues and my inability to truly let go.

In the words of one guy

"You are like a closed book and I can't deal. "

They say you attract what you believe and see in your heart always and I attracted pain like bees to honey.

neon-light-2521551_1280.jpg
Source

How I Finally Broke Free of my Self-Imposed Prison

It took a while, but I was finally able to free myself from the prison I'd put myself in. To to be free, I had to come to the realization that pain is not an entirely bad thing as t here are good pain and also bad pain

IMG_20180314_082040_113.JPG
Source

Good Pain
Good pain is pain that changes you and builds you up for the good. These are pain we can't but go through as we need them to grow.

While they exist, they might cripple us, but in the long run they do more good than harm.

This is the type of pain you feel when you have the courage to walk out of a toxic relationship, even though leaving would initially hurt a lot.

This is also the pain you feel as you watch a business you've painstakingly built slowly crumble. Youcan choose to feel devastated at losing money and time invested into the business, or you could see it as a lesson of how to better manage your next business and succeed.

Bad Pain
Now, bad pain on the other hand, is the pits and no one prays for this. With bad pain you learn absolutely no valuable lesson. This pain comes (deeply sometimes as to cripple you) and you can only struggle to stay above it or you would drown.

This is the kind of pain you feel losing a child or a spouse to death. It fills you up completely and you lose a part of yourself with the passing of this loved one.

How to Deal with Bad Pain

  • Understand that in life, no one has it good all the times. Bad pain comes to make us appreciate the good times we've had and still will have.

  • Hold unto the memories of the good times. These are pictures you should have framed and hang in the corridors of your heart always.

  • Continuing to wallow in your pain will only make you lose a little bit of yourself daily and also lose out in all the beautiful things around you. Hard as it might seem, you should pick yourself up; find a reason (s) to live again.

  • While you shouldn't wallow in this pain, you should also give yourself a reasonable amount of time to overcome it. Allow yourself go through the stages of grief fully so when your healing comes, it's whole. Take it one step at a time. You have been hurt (possibly devasted) and you have a right to your pain.

  • While it's natural to want to shut people out, you should instead, accept as much love as is given at this time as this will make your healing faster.

Sort:  

Your article is featured in @Yehey Daily Curation for additional mention and exposure to the world.

This post has received a 100% up vote from @Acknowledgement. Sponsored by @Yehey.

Please Vote @Yehey for Witness https://on.king.net/witness simply click and vote.

Lovely.
@Acknowledgement
Join us https://SteemChat.com use $upvote [your link] to receive up vote.

Thanks for the nice piece of information and advice, which this can help sorting life issues

You are welcome and I hope this can truly help you.

I am not scared of being heartbroken because my heart is a "stone". Just kidding.

Haha 😂 @your heart being a stone. But in a way I think it would be a good thing not to be scared of pain. Cause when you are you try to shield against it and love might also pass you by.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by paigegirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great post @paigegirl. I have a chronic illness that causes me a great deal of pain. I can really relate to the points you made in the How to deal with bad pain section. Thank you for sharing with us.

Well knitted post from one of the most beautiful ladies on the platform.

Pain should always be harnessed for strength 💪.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54150.70
ETH 2268.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27