Butt-breathing turtles

in #zappl7 years ago (edited)

Turtles can breath our of their anus, eliminating the need for lungs when trapped underwater due to ice. To stop acidic overload, they can get calcium from their shells & survive over 100 days without breathing!

Read more @mobbs!

Sort:  

That?s pretty cool

It's insane... I'll have to make a full post about turtles soon, they need recognition

Ah ok I didn't see this before I left my comment. I'm excited to read the more in-depth article. This information in mind boggling. Thanks for fun fact!

Love turtles! I was taken to a breeding colony on Zakynthos many years ago and never forgot the sight (in moonlight!) of the eggs. It's a hard life for mother turltes. They are getting recognition, but our world (or peoples) spend a lot of time neglecting,or stealing habitats of creatures, that sadly animals are all in danger of becoming extinct until we look after our planet more. Write about them and I will read.

That's a great trip to have taken! I envy you. And yeah they are one of the most struggling species, I suppose. They take so long to reach maturity before they can breed, and most their eggs never make it past the first few days after hatching.

Good luck to them all!

Nice information about turtle @mobdrops.

This is absolutely obsurd information! I hope you can write another article explaining this in depth. It seems to rediculous to be true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44