SWOT ANALYSIS OF 2017 SMART GOALS

in #zappl7 years ago (edited)

Generally, in development work, public health research and practice, I have learnt how to do SWOT analysis of projects. Analysis of
- Strengths
- Weaknesses
- Opportunities &
- Threats
can also be applied to your 2017 SMART goals.
#zappl

Sort:  

I like that you turned this into a zappl post as it could easily been extremely long and technical going into examples or into further detail. This looks a very powerful tool where very complex and large data points can be tossed at it to break things down into a more user friendly viewpoint that can be further shifted by a different lens to analyze things.

Such as looking at things in short and longer term effects on the project or any other manner as it is pulled back together into a wider overall viewpoint.

Say the health research has 6 months of funding but it really needs at least 8. So this would be consider a negative weakness and in the short term the project is seen as not having enough resources to make it to desire levels. While looking at the longer term there is an opportunity if you can prove the benefits are outweighing the risks that an addition 6 months of funding can be secured.

So while the project could end due to a result in limitations of funding in resources those resources could also be extended by taking advantage of opportunist that overcome short term obstacles for longer term prosperity.

Truly fascinating! Thank you for sharing this.

@enjar, I'm glad that you understand that this post would have been really long had I not considered the option of using zappl to communicate my message.

Say the health research has 6 months of funding but it really needs at least 8. So this would be consider a negative weakness and in the short term the project is seen as not having enough resources to make it to desire levels. While looking at the longer term there is an opportunity if you can prove the benefits are outweighing the risks that an addition 6 months of funding can be secured.

I like this your analogy of a health research case. Sometimes, what we consider a weakness short-term could turn out to be a strength long-term and vice-versa. Thank you for your invaluable contribution. Happy New year!!!

Ok, I've heard of SWOT but I never thought I could apply it in the analysis of my 2017.

Still thinking about what my STRENGTHS really were. 😕

As for WEAKNESS; oh Lord!!! That should be PROCRASTINATION. those of us here that love procrastinating, let's gather on my blog at 12 midnight for special prayers. 😂. But on a more serious note, that thing called procrastination needs to really be fought. It is a very big hindrance; its disadvantages are so numerous and cannot even be overemphasized.

Moving on to OPPORTUNITIES. Yea, STEEMIT (it wasn't the only opportunity though, but it's on the top of my list even though it came towards the end of this year)

Lastly, THREAT. Hmmmmmm. Sometimes, I see MYSELF as a threat to myself because I procrastinate a lot. Let's not deceive ourselves and gather anywhere for any vigil (although we need God's strength because His guidance and strength cannot be underrated) if our problem is procrastination; we need more of self discipline, I repeat, self discipline.

May God guide us and see us through this new year to be better people.

👏...waoh! This is great, using SWOT for project

Its one crucial tool we use in analysing business viability and you using to analyse ur projecy in 2018...i will always learn things here on steemit...this is good ma

@bekky

Its one crucial tool we use in analysing business viability

Glad to see you here, @bekky. Wow! Application in business is another area where SWOT analysis is important. There is really no other way to understand the viability of one's business, if the owner doesn't perform SWOT analysis. Thanks for your contribution. Cheers.

Welcome mama...

Wow... Thanks for this. I have used swot in several ways already to analyze my potentials and areas where I need to work on. I strongly believe we can apply Swot analysis in any endeavor we are in. It works perfectly.

@olufunke, thank you for the confirmation that SWOT analysis works perfectly. Steem on!

this need to be reshape to my life. thanks for the this

Surely, @areurdayle. Doing SWOT analysis from time to time will surely re-shape your life. Happy New Year!!!

IMG_20171228_145554.jpg

Swot analysis includes the gathering and portrayal of records about internal and external elements which have, or may additionally have, an impact on enterprise.

That is a succinct definition of SWOT ANALYSIS @georgeani. Your contribution is appreciated. Thank you.

I love the Acronyms used @maryflavour please reply your message on discrod

I'm glad that you like the acronym used, @tfame3865. Cheers.

I learned the SWOT analysis during my marketing class this semester. And i can tell you that it is one of the most crucial things you can do! Thanks for sharing!
Poyraz

Great to know that you learnt SWOT analysis during your marketing class this semester, @poyraz. Application of SWOT analysis to in virtually every area of your life would help you develop into the better version of you. Enjoy!

Fantastic. Very succint and practicable.!!! 2018, here i come

@adesina, I'm glad that you like SWOT analysis. It's very important to do SWOT analysis for project evaluation and planning. When this is done successfully, managers can be sure of better outcomes/deliverables.

Working on my Ws

Great, @greenrun! As for me, I am focusing more on my strengths (internal) & opportunities (external).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63