Sort:  

It all depends on your device also it changes sizes so they all don't apear the same size. The app is new its takes time for admob to decide whats the best responsive ad's.

One thing people don't realize is 50-70% of what an app earns gets locked up for 13 weeks. So the liquid to pay bills is very small. With out ad's or being popular with the community you can't have a working app.

Esteem survives of earnings and what they make from making post updates which is normally hundreds of dollars each time they make a post on steemit.

Now I didn't question why you had to have them (your paragraphs 2&3). I made a point that they were intrusive and cheap looking. Are you saying that you had no choice over the size?

Perhaps I should demonstrate what I mean. Every other app I have used chooses the small banner at the bottom. It can be a little annoying at times but hey. That's the price you pay... Or don't haha.

Zappl has a banner ad at the bottom which is over twice the height of most others. As you can see in the screen shot it actually obscures some of the post.

So I stand by what I say. Which is not I don't think you should have ads.

But is, it is big and cheap looking and intrusive

1512077500-picsay.jpg

ADroid apps, amirite? Maybe they could just take the eSteem route and get a percentage of the payouts. @zappl thoughts?

Zappl already takes a 15% cut of posts but until more users join there has to be an input of income instead of only output. Also the whole app isn't spammed with ad;s they are in 1 targeted place.

Ohh I appreciate the clarification. That's great to know! I haven't used the app so I'm just basing it off what Boom said. Don't get me wrong, I love what you guys are doing. I know I've been a bit jokey about everything, but I truly believe in what you set out to do :D

While I have you here, I've been trying to make a zap for a couple of weeks now, but I haven't been able to do so because of the 5-minute error. I'm sure you guys are already aware and hard at work at it, but I didn't see the issue existing on your github page so I've been compiling reproducible steps in case you guys needed it. I'm a software developer, and Zappl is one of the few Steem-based projects that I really want to support. If you guys ever need spare hands, I'm happy to help :D

5 minute error has been fixed now.

Great! Thanks! Awesome job to everyone involved!

They do both, I dunno. One or the other in my book. I am a big fan of zappl but I stand by what I say the ads are too big on the app. And I can't help but be disappointed that the app has ads although I understand they have to do it. For the money.

Their explanation sounds legit. It's always tough at the beginning. I'm sure once usage picks up, the ads would be a distant memory.

I gotta do my zapping on the go. App will improve I'm sure

Congratulations @b00m! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64