To Our Health, a Zapfic

in #zapfic5 years ago

IMG_20190725_165127405.jpg


Bow to the struggle
cry uncle,
give in
The witnesses have spoken
our prospects
now dim

Most waking moments
stuck
to a screen,
gambling
on earnings
in devalued steem

Step out for a moment
unplug,
cut the juice
Let others steem on
don't cook
your own goose


Maybe the rulers have done me a favor in making it even more difficult for little ole me to earn a penny or two on steem. Maybe it's fine that my money buys even less than it did before. I certainly do not care to be here as often. I've learned to unplug entirely for several hours a day. I think more clearly and I get some other stuff done.

I highly recommend unplugging, for the whole planet's health. Read more here:
https://steempeak.com/mindfulness/@owasco/unplugged


This is my entry to https://steempeak.com/creativecoin/@felt.buzz/zapfic-tell-me-a-tale-in-240-characters-or-less-a-micro-fiction-contest-with-prize-pool-including-6-sbi-100-marlians-100-ccc

The image is mine.


owasco_banner.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Sort:  

Impressive, as always. I have had the opposite occur in me recently. I've found that I really enjoy just writing and dropping it here, writing whatever I want for me and not caring otherwise, just exercising the brain. Unplugging I'm certain is good too - whatever needs to be done to free the mind.

hm. so it's been freeing for both of us. Thanks for that comment. I knew I had an unhealthy relationship with steem and the unplugging helped a lot, immediately. Perhaps an unintended but needed silver lining to lost wages, not caring so much about the wages. That's fine for me, I don't need the pennies, but for others it makes a huge difference.

I love the poem, snarky and to the point! :) For a little more than my first year on steemit, every day I made a post with 4 poems inside that were based on stories in the news. When I stopped doing that, the door opened to writing other things and then I got into fiction, which is a real blast.

But to be honest, I still enjoy not spending so many hours daily working and being logged in most of every single day! Breaks, even little ones, are good for us!

I'm sorry I missed your poems! I spend hours on one though, this one for instance probably took me two hours at least. Sounds like a little ditty, but I had to squeeze it into 240 characters or fewer. I enjoy doing that. This one is exactly 240.
I love writing fiction too, and started doing it here for the first time in my life for @freewritehouse. Who knew?
Now that I am trying to step away from steem some, I am finding the time to play the piano, sing, dance, garden and cook. I had allowed an obsession with earning 15 cents an hour instead of 10 to rule my life. It was not good. The fork, and my decreased earnings, helped me step away.

I, for one, need to unplug from the internet now and then. A walk in the fresh crisp air this time of year does wonders.

Isn't it lovely? Can you imagine not getting that restorative re-calibrating break every day?
I wonder how many people who are depressed and online all day would benefit from a walk outside. I'm worried that their exposure to so much radiation is part of what is causing their depression, or worsening it.
While I credit #wednesdaywalk with getting me back outside for short walks, it wasn't until I spent time out there without my phone and as much of the electronic radiation off as I could turn off that I got the urge to sit and read outside, something I did for hours on end before I started spending hours on end online. I am so happy to tune out now! Its my favorite time of day. Thanks for stopping in.

This makes me so glad that we are on the right track, as our charity work keeps us unplugged for hours.
Money we do not have, but that hasn't stopped us from existing now into Papillon's 18th year.
A great post here my friend.
Blessings!

Thank you for stopping by and leaving me those happy words! It's comforting to know there are people like you in the world.

Thank you!

yes we all need to unplug, to take the time to be outdoors and reconnect, beautifully expressed xx

💖💖💖🙏💖💖💖

Posted using Partiko Android

tip.gif

You have received 20 NEOXAG gift from @reiki-ag!

Please check your neoxian.city wallet.
To know more about our tip bot read Neoxian City Tip Bot Announcement Post
To know more about our tribe read this post
To view or trade NEOXAG go to steem-engine.com

All right! I am feeling brave. This weekend I am going to turn off from social media on Saturday and Sunday! 😮 What have I said! Here I go :D Keep your fingers crossed for me @owasco!! I am already suffering 😅

It's hard to do at first! The temptation to just check real quick is very strong. For my first attempt, I told myself it would be for an hour. This is an old Alcoholics Anonymous trick. And, just like with drinking, I found myself going much longer. Now I hesitate to turn it back on. I ask myself first "is there anything I need to do today that I can do without wifi or cell service?" and I get all that done. The best one so far has been to go outside and read a book. I can't remember the last time I did that and it's something I used to do for hours on end, lucky me.
Good luck!

Very useful info! Thanks for the wishes ;)

And thank you for all the upvotes!

How did your social media free weekend turn out? I've been wondering.

Thank you for asking @owasco:)

It turns out it is the only way to fly! I survived, and enjoyed my unplugged time very much. I was still on my computer, as I needed to work on Saturday (mostly on Word and Power Point). In the afternoon as I was about to turn my computer off I had this overwhelming urge to check Steemit. But I didn’t. Similar to what you said, I told to myself: if make it today, I know I can make it on Sunday. And I did it! I am ready to go offline every weekend from now on. It is a good way to declutter the mind! :)

Big hug from Portugal !

Excellent! Yes that it declutters the mind is a good description. I think it allows your mind's information to settle more naturally. I imagine that all the frequencies keep the info in our brains from going to their appropriate places, keeps us all slightly insane if you will.
Big hug from New York!

I do think people need to think of Steem in a more long term manner. While it might not feel like the entire space of crypto itself is still very young and we are even younger. People should be focusing on content creation at pace they can keep up with over the long run.

I usually only post a couple times a week. Sometimes maybe just once. To me it’s not a big deal as I know I don’t want to burn out in the short term and go missing for months trying to recover.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98