No More Spark Left | Microfiction

in #zapfic6 years ago (edited)

blazer-close-up-closet-1682699.jpg

“Does it spark joy?” she asks with a lilting Japanese accent.

I try to answer for the sets of tailor-made suits hanging smartly in my wardrobe. I have not worn them in a decade, but the ghosts of Wall Street did - and creased their folded sleeves.

“They must go.” I whisper quietly, not to her.

image.png

Make a guess who she is.

Any clue?

She has not only sparked joy, but many intense debates, with arguments for and against her brand of minimalism.

She is Marie Kondo.

And this #zapfic entry into @felt.buzz's contest is just dedicated to her (or we can say, sparked by her). A week or so after Netflix show first came out, my boyfriend and I used to tease each other, "Does that spark joy?"

"You don't spark joy."

Apart from lighthearted banter are the more serious issues surrounding Marie Kondo's philosophy. Racism, classism, sexism - all the 'ism's - were thrown about in the flurry of discussions.

One I found especially thought-provoking was about a Medium article that spotlighted its connection with poverty.

Its basic premise is that Marie Kondo's teaching is applicable more to wealthy people as only rich people have the privilege to declutter, to "collect", to curate. Due to the innate fear of lack, poor people hoard and even if they don't reach dangerous levels of hoarding, they cannot just easily throw away perfectly functioning items which were bought by their hard earned money.

What are your thoughts on Marie Kondo? And I hope you've enjoyed the microfiction - written in present tense but with a slight haunting feel.

(P.S. Photo Source from Craig via Pexels)

Much love,
Joey ❤️

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Good to know about Kondoism. I think I am of the hoarding type, still, but I do like Minimalism, too.

@manoldonchev Haha I understand what you mean! (:
Sometimes we hoard, not just for joy, but for meaning (like it may have meant something but brings mixed feelings).

Interesting and thought provoking! Nicely written!

@rwedegis Thank you for the kind words! ((:

Good micro-fiction and insightful short article @joeylim
My wife brought Marie Kondo into our home several months ago - we both read her book, we considred how to proceed, and we ended up cleaning out a lot of clutter. I would have to say that we both benefited from the experience and still attempt to maintain a clutter-free lifestyle. However - I do not care for the Netflix series, although, it is all the buzz with the ladies in my office. ha ha
I am intrigued by the Medium article and will take time to read that as well. I have heard, from older generations in my own family, who lived through World War II and The Great Depression, that they are more at ease when they have gathered resources rather than live in minimalism.

@aejackson thanks for the uplifting words! (:

Yeahh same, haha, I also cleaned out lots of clutter from my room!

(Hehe I haven't gotten round to watching it yet 😋)

Interesting. One's personal past experiences really do affect how you live and behave, in this case, choose to keep or discard things. I think for the previous generation it holds true, that hoarding is their comfort zone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62