Yu Yu Hakusho Special Review

in #yuyuhakusho6 years ago

For a more visual review; check out this DTube video:

https://d.tube/v/icytaff/4lvubmyn

yuyu-hakusho-2018.jpg

Status: Finished

Yu Yu Hakusho Special - Again, I swear I didn’t just choose this anime because I had to fill out the list with something. I actually wanted to see some new content from this series. This was a part of the 25th anniversary of the series Yu Yu Hakusho.

This special is divide in two episode. One is about when lil Vegeta (Hiei) and Kurama meet and the other is an adaptation of the Interdimensional laser chapters, basically the second last chapter of the manga with added panels from the last chapter. Yeah, the anime follows the chapters as they seemed to go panel to panel. Minimalistic for an adaptation, but acceptable in this case.

The cast is back and so are the voice actors for our 4 main guys. It’s good to see that even the director is back to give us this anime one more time. It just shows that this IS a short return, a reminder that this series is profitable.

You know, I think this anime does sort of rekindle my interest in the series, for that I gotta thank the writer. The character interaction are either straight taken from the source or altered for the sake of the narrative. The new dialog in the flashback seems to be in-character back before they meet Yusuke. Yusuke is being Yusuke and Kuwabara is hilarious as always.

The action scenes are decent for what they had to work with. There is something about the action in this series that show some intelligence against even the average of demons. And can I just say that they finally animated that 5 second scenes from the manga, I have always thought how that scene would be animated in current animation.

And that’s it. I don’t think this special is any special than what it is. It’s not breaking new grounds. A good short return of the character we know, indulging in a short adventure yet again. This does remind me of those short special of Rumiko work years ago, so I guess the same could apply here. It knows that it just a simple story and it does have some fun with it. There isn’t much to complain about and there isn’t much things to praise it. This is a watch for any Yu Yu Hakusho fan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50