You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to pick the right handgun for you!

in #yunk7 years ago

Once upon a time, We in Australia were free to protect ourselves against harm from those who would wish us harm. That is no longer the case anymore, as Our Government took away those rights a while ago.
And it's not a case of just having it out of fear of anything, but just having it as a right of freedom, a freedom that no longer exists anymore, and that was taken away as a freedom, arbitrarily by an imposed law by the Government of the day.
I bought my first firearm off the shelf from Kmart as a sixteen year old, LEGALLY. Never killed anything except feral cats and pigs except for a few native Magpie Geese which we ate at family BBQ's over the years.

I then became a criminal when I forgot to hand in my semi automatic 22 long rifle, as I was interstate and had left it in another state in a cupboard at the time for a few years.

When I grew up as a youngster though, having a rifle was a right of passage, learning how to shoot a rifle was just a part of life, killing an animal to eat and learning how to dress it was a normal part of life.

Why and when did all this change here in Australia ? When did it become all too dangerous and all too harmful for a teenager to learn how to shoot and kill their own food, as was the custom for hundreds of years before ?

When did owning a weapon become a dangerous practice and a need to be registered and controlled by the government of the day and why ? When the majority of gun holders in Australia are law abiding citizens ?

Sort:  

It is truly a shame that these laws were put into place and firearms were taken from law abiding citizens. I pray this never happens in the US. If it does, I guess I'll become an outlaw.

Do you have T.P. for my bunghole? I would hate for my bungholio to get polio.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65885.06
ETH 3440.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65