How did I improve my steemit experiencesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #yunk7 years ago (edited)

I discovered Steemit 4 weeks ago, and I was suffering an existential crisis after seing my content not rewarded or even read. I was working hard to write quality content and share the things I know about and love, but unfortunately most of them didn't get even a single visit.

I was close to throw the towel, but then I decided to enter into the chat https://steemit.chat and ask for help. I entered into the general channel and told them my concerns, asking for any advice about my posts or the way I was using Steemit.

Luckily I was invited to join the #yunk channel, and the offered my the best tips I have gotten since I arrived here. The most useful tips were:

  • Quality versus quantity. It's better to write one good post than four without any content. But remember you shouldn't write more than four, in the case you're inspired and can write more than one good post.
  • Networking, or don't you think having more followers is better. Right after my third week I reached the 100 followers. I was pretty happy, but thanks to the advices I got, I realized most of my followers where not worth, which means they are not following me, they just have clicked on my name but they don't like, follow or share my opinions, ideas or knowledges. Instead of looking for increasing the number of followers, you should take care of the the kind of followers you want and need.
    -> comment the posts you think interesting and you will build a closer relation with the authors
    -> enter into the chat and look for people who think alike (https://steemit.chat)
    -> answer always the people who comment your posts, recognize their effort and start a conversation about the topics you both care
  • Learn about the promotion tools. Look for boots which can help you promoting your content. Start following https://steemit.com/@minnowbooster and https://steemit.com/@minnowsupport and learn about what they do. There are many bots which will help you promote your own content, and the content from other people you think is relevant.
  • Don't lose your patience!, as if you work hard on it, sooner or later you'll get rewarded, but the most important thing is to enjoy the way and not to get obsessed.

Long live to the yunk channel and Steemit!

tecnogril.jpg
Logo designed by @tecnosgirl

Your voice your yunk!
Your Yunk Your vote!

Sort:  

excellent

Thank you @hrsagar, as I wrote it was the best moment to learn about it :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by 343301095524925440 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

I think its quite normal to give up here and there (as long as you pick that towel back up). Hardly anything moves in a straight line. :)

I think maybe the issue is with the whole promotion and idea of steemit. What do you do? Oh I blog for money! What is steemit? Oh blogging for money. Etc. So of course all the people that join are: I'm blogging for money. So when the results don't follow and noone reads you blog...expectations are not met.

Maybe all of us should "sell" our blogging in a different way?

Thats right @atopy. Even if we all enter because it's more profitable than any other social net, at some point we should also think about other factors, or it'll turn tedious

Glad I ran into you buddy :)

Ups, I forgot to mention you @saywha, but my radical improvement was thanks to your kind help :-)

Yunkified.. We are glad to have you aboard with us @dssb.

Guilty 0:-) I'm glad to arrived there

Great breakdown, @dssb.

-> Always answer the people who comment your posts.

Seems like a natural social phenomena, yet we tend to get caught up in the shiny-object syndrome (as humans) and tune into WIIFM (What's In It For Me). The mentality is: pump out posts, upvotes, follows, get returns in kind.

Part of the problem here, imo, is that the internet has programmed us for instant gratification, so we expect it in every endeavor. Thanks for helping with the stinkin' thinkin' problem and sharing this helpful guide. I can see #yunk is a genuine group of steemians helping steemians.

You're right @tunnelrat, and that's one of the things concerned me more. If we just care for upvoting we'll end forgetting about the quality of the content and the interaction with others. Actually this is a perverse looping you can enter in Steemit, and I'm not sure how easy will be to avoid it for the most part of users, or this will get unusable

Could you share your results with your new strategy?

Sure @allfabeta, if you mean the numeric results, you only have to check my posts. The previous were not read by anybody and now they're getting noticed.But as I wrote the most important thing is the change of strategy per se, as the result will come anyway :)

I hope it helps

I think @allfabeta means maybe you can make a post sharing the difference in your results

I only can see your recent posts were upvoted with bots. They cannot read at all.

Try to not only speak about but also implement your described strategy. And don't forget to check results

It can be hard here, I'm not here that long and came in looking for the money :-)

But as I have matured I have made some good friends and have steadily been making connections and building a community of friends. It does take time and a lot of effort, but it is worth it.

I guess that's the main point @scottish01 :) we're all learning during this process. In the end this is a new way of interacting for everyvodr and we learn on the go!

Good tips brabroski

Thank you @inkha! I'm still learning, but I try to share the little I learn in the process :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32