YouTube shut my channel down

in #youtube7 years ago (edited)

The purge is here and my channel appears to be among those terminated for no reason.

First my account was locked out due to ‘suspicious activity on this account’, then after confirming my identity with my cell phone the account was completely locked out and shut down.

upload1.jpg

This message appeared on my channel page, “This account has been terminated due to multiple violations of YouTube’s policy against spam, deceptive practices, and misleading content or other Terms Of Service violations.”

upload2.jpg

When attempting to go to Google Accounts, I was directed to the Terms Of Service. As I read through the terms of service, I failed to understand the termination.

I never swear, never incite violence, never call on my audience to commit violent acts, never show or talk about sexual acts, and never under any circumstances do I try to use deceit or deception.

upload3.jpg

There are no Copyright Strikes or Community Guideline Strikes of any kind on this channel.

After making a request for repeal of the termination explaining my case, the channel was eventually reactivated saying there is and was no violation of Terms Of Service.

No further explanation was given as to why it happened. No further contact or information as to how to avoid this happening again in the future.

Was my channel part of the attempted purge underway? I can’t tell you, because they didn't explain what happened. The timing of this event seems uncanny given the purge of other voices on YouTube, and based on the content I produce, it seems more than likely that one of the new employees they hired to cleanup their platform terminated my account.

This is a warning to readers. If it can happen to a small channel like mine, it can happen to anyone.

Sort:  

@thevoiceofcanada thanks so much for sharing your experience with everyone here! I am going to reesteem so that any Youtuber in here can at least get a heads up in case they go through the same ordeal as you! It's really unfortunate how they are proceeding on this matter

Resteeming. Really don't like to see this kind of treatment.

I kind of wonder what are the exact qualifiers for someone to be a target of this purge.

Thanks for the resteem guys. New to the site and it really helps grow the audience. Based on the conversations I've had with other people kicked off, it can be as little as expressing a controversial viewpoint. I woman I spoke to yesterday said her account was shut down 3 times in the course of 2 months because she refused to stop talking about Islam in Canada in the comment sections.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62493.96
ETH 2440.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64