YouTube sent a payment! Demonetized, then re-monitized.

in #youtube6 years ago

YouTube sent me a payment! I am amazed that this is my reality.

At one point I had imagined how it would feel to receive money for videos, but my mindset was that other people did that. I didn’t think anyone would really be interested in my videos.



Alt
Source



The payment I received was largely thanks to a single video.

I haven’t really posted that much to YouTube, to be honest I understand the exploitative nature of most social media platforms out there, which as you can imagine makes me feel a little uncomfortable with creating content for those vultures. I did post the video here, and a huge thanks to all of the cop watchers who gave me upvotes and resteems here.

The video shows a Corvallis police goon harassing me for my ID card. He makes a claim to have a right to stop me because my appearance matches the description of an alleged restraining order violation. In truth there were hundreds of people in the parking lot where I was stopped, I was singled out, I believe because I was wearing a balaclava to keep out the cold of a late december night.

YouTube demonetized me not long after the video was posted, because I was under the thousand followers mark, the vast majority of traffic given to my video was occuring during this time, and I was not paid for this time. It took them six months to reinstate my status as monetized. In the time since my traffic has taken a dramatic hit.



Alt
Source



I know that platforms like YouTube are inherently exploitative. I know that they are more concerned with their shareholders than they are with their content creators. I wish that these tech companies were able to hold the users in higher regard. I have similar feelings here on Steemit recently, with Ned and Dan seeming to have largely abandoned ship.

I am sharing my video here again, I have posted it a few times to my Steemit, I am very grateful to the Steem community for throwing me a few views, and if you like my content, hit subscribe!



Thanks for reading this far!


If you enjoyed this post you may like one of the other blogs I have written.

You can find them here, or here, or here.



Check out my other social media profiles.

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Patreon



I am a member of these Discord channels which support community and connections on Steemit.

PALnet

SteemUSA

Steem Star Network



enter image description here



enter image description here



Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

Hi, I reached 4000 hours and The 1000 subscribers requested on my youtube channel, Youtube is examining my channel to tell me if I will be re-monetized or not, I would have the answer in about a month!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65