You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: YouTube star Philip DeFranco is leaving YouTube and why that is good news for Steemit.com

in #youtube7 years ago

YouTube made it easy to earn.

Steemit is missing 2 things I think;
Video hosting
And easy payouts

Video hosting can be sorted more easily than payouts.
Put yourself in the position of someone who knows nothing about Steem, Bitcoin, exchanges etc.
Thats a huge barrier for many people, how do they get their earnings out quick and easy?

Sort:  

If and when you'll earn $1000 on steemit you' ll find out how to cash out in five minutes, believe me.

If and when you'll earn $1000 on steemit you' ll find out how to cash out in five minutes, believe me.

That's the whole point! i've been telling people how great Steemit is and there's always the "I dont know how to use it".

From now on i'll quoting your awesome line.

I agree that you will have the motivation to learn!

I fear you may be over-estimating the will of many people. This is the age of instant gratification and people want easy.

If your going to ask me, I can cash that out in 5 minutes or less. :)

nope..not that I want to but I've earned half that just tonight.

best post I've seen all day haha

Yea the video hosting is a big one and I think that is coming at some point...

I agree, we will need to get a way to convert Steem directly to someone's local currency at some point. Either that or get a lot more merchants accepting steem as a form of payment. I am not sure which one is more likely at this point, but hopefully one of those comes in the near future.

I think we are going to see an explosion in virtual currencies over the next year. Both in adoption and price.

Brick and mortar stores are where the majority of people still purchase their groceries, and I think they would be weary of accepting payment in something whose value varies wildly.

I agree on the explosion! With little to no investment in virtual currencies I have some serious FOMO!

I think to offer video streaming and other bandwidth intensive services it's necessary to have access to a decentralized storage system. For example one day the SAFE network ( https://maidsafe.net/ ) could become that solution (I think there are some other systems with that purpose in development, SAFE is just the one I personally like the most ;) ).

Interesting times we live in, I would like to learn more on the SAFE network, will be reading up on that soon.

I think it is only important for steemit to support thumbnailing other video platforms like vid.me - Barriors to switch are low. Soon alot of human under 40 will have a Bitcoin account etc. So they will fastly figure out how to trade STEEM.

Do you really think that a lot of people will have Bitcoin wallets?

I am not so sure, but hope you are right!

Payout is dirt simple. Not sure how it could be less complex.

Payout to a bank account that you can use to pay bills from?

YouTube/Adsense pay directly into a bank account, automatically. Majority of people have bank accounts, so thats simple.

Most people dont know about bitcoin and exchanges etc.

I think it may be simple for you because have a background in technology, but for someone who does woodworking videos, or sewing or up-cycling videos, that stuff is as confusing as hell.

For me, it would be simpler if there was a more direct route from Steem to fiat.

Oh I agree with you on this. I in no way wanted to insinuate that there is no room for improvement. What you suggest would be super awesome actually! Then it would be easy to turn all types of crypto into fiat. That would be super crazy good.

It would be amazeballs!

Steemit just has to make shure that the platform can scale rapidly when Facebook and Twitter is loosing traffic.

Supporting that much traffic is a hard thing to do, no doubt about that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39