Withdrawal || Visualising a Scene Without Much Reference

in #youtube6 years ago

There are plenty of scenes in roleplays that I want to visualise with my art. It's not always easy, especially if the moment is only plotted and not written yet. One such scene was Wolve dealing with withdrawal once she returns to earth. To those unclear, Wolve is addicted to lyrium, Ferelden's 'mana potion.' Those who drink too much become addled, and those who go to long... don't cope well.

There's only one example of this is in dragon age origins, within Howe's dungeon, and is glanced at incredibly briefly. This made designing this piece even more difficult. I wanted to show Wolve desperate and needing, but had little reference on what to do. So a lot of what I ended up doing was up to creative freedom.

jamiewolve_comparison.jpg
In the end I decided to use what little reference I had, combined with how I think lyrium withdrawal would feel like. It felt it would leave Wolve unable to speak clearly, as well as take the entirety of her focus. She needed lyrium and nothing else mattered. Trying to get the thoughts out of her head as she finds herself trembling, not even noticing Jamie (ROTG) trying to comfort her.

Due to this scenario taking place in Ferelden Frost, my favourite roleplay, Jamie Bennett and Pitch Black are both present, though Pitch in more subtle ways. Shadowy hands creeping up on her. In the plotted scenario, he soon appears and offers her her fix, despite Jamie's protests.

Check out the process here!

Music used;
Daniel Rosty & Sash S - See The Stars (Michael Matics Remix)


Kris Cerro - Escape

Disfigure - Blank [NCS Release]

Warriyo - Mortals (feat. Laura Brehm) [NCS Release]

Sort:  

excellent friend. You have my support I hope to have your support to keep growin

Thank you! Not many people seem to understand just how much a little comment means <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71