Shadows;; Working with Unfinished Ideas

in #youtube6 years ago

While most of my redraws have a clear layout of my intent, there are some I started with no obvious idea to work with. While usually I would have just deleted something like this, I much prefer to work with what I have and take on the challenge. This was the case with 'Shadows'. I had a rough sketch but no real... content. To the point the image was literally titled 'JadeDraft'. No structure, no idea, I had no clue where to even start, but sometimes you have to jump in and see what happens.

Already the pose were off, her arm just hanging in the middle of nowhere, had I drawn the other arm or was she leaning on it?! You could see the start of her crown, her head and ears. Her torso, but nothing really concrete. However once I started, I found an image properly forming. I wanted to stay true to the original theme (otherwise there was no point in it being a redraw) so I fixed her arms to come to make it clearer.

jadedraft_spread.jpg
I wanted to add something behind her to make it look less empty, so given her connection with Pitch Black (Rotg) I decided to add him, a shadow so to speak. Being sure to add a shadowy affect on her left side to represent his presence's influence on her form.

Check out the process below!

Music Used;
T & Sugah x NCT - Stardust (feat. Miyoki) [NCS Release]


Triple M - 2GETHER

Are there any pieces you left and aren't sure where to go with? Let me know!

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me.If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30