Progressing as an Artist;; From Bases to References

in #youtube6 years ago

When I was a young artist, I tended to use bases to help create the image I pictured in my head. There's nothing wrong with using bases as long as you don't claim the base as your own or try to profit off it. It's a great way to learn and develop as an artist, gathering how proportions work as well as how shapes fit together to make a complete piece. For me, bases tend to give me good ideas to go with, even if I don't draw over them.

One base I used no longer exists on deviantart, so please forgive me for not linking back, though I can link to the artist who created the base. It was a really cute picture of two people with little hand puppets. One serious and one playful. It reminded me so much of my muses at the time (Mizuki and Wolve) that I had to draw it!

But as I developed as a person and as an artist, I wanted to try to recreate the piece in my own style without the use of a base. While the original was drawn in 2012, this new piece was drawn in 2017, that's five years of experience! Not only in art school, but in development of my characters.

MizukiandWolve_watermark.png

While Mizuki is still pale, her hair is cropped short and is more appropriate for battle than her long style. Instead of long sleeves, she wears a sleeveless shirt with long gloves. She also looks less angry, and more cautious, curious, confused even. Wolve retains her hairstyle, but has darker skin. More akin to someone who spends a long time outside.

Either way, I'm really glad with the improvement! I still captured the essence of the image despite using my own style and skill.

See the process here!

Music used;
Jensation - Joystick [NCS Release]


Zaza - Be Together [NCS Release]

Different Heaven - Nekozilla - (LFZ Remix) [NCS release]

Smokn Beats - Tattoo (feat. Sondrey)

How much has your art changed in 5 years? Let me know in the comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87