YouTube Shafts Small Creators - I'm done!

in #youtube7 years ago

hqdefault.jpg

The new Youtube rules for monetization and The Partner Programme will see the end of 70% of the channels. YES! SEVENTY PER CENT.

71% of youtubers have less than 4000 watch hours in the last year and so won't be eligible for monetization of their videos. Let's put this into perspective:

A channel that gets 1000 watch hours per year is currently earning around $500 per month from advertising revenue on their videos. Youtube, on the other hand are earning around $1000 per month from the same channels videos, for the payments from their clients for allowing advertising on their site.

So currently, there's a lot of people who are earning a small amount of money each month and producing some really good content.

Under the new rules, they will NOT be eligible for monetization BUT Youtube are still going to be allowed to put adverts onto the creators video but they WON'T have to pay them a penny.

I don't know about you but this sucks!

Many of my favourite channels are quite small but have been going a long time and provide me with great content. NotRegMe and OurHalfAcreHomestead are two that immediately spring to mind. These two channels are unlikely to hit the new threshold. I fear that they will be lost to the community along with many others.

This will leave us will the larger, mainstream channels that make thousands of dollars each month but only provide us with 'mainstream' news and views that we could find anywhere on mainstream television.

Thus, our non mainstream commentators who provide us with the news of what is really going on...will be gone.

It seems to me that this is a new tool for censoring people.

Sort:  

YouTube was born on providing a place people could express themselves and respond easily to video's with their own response. They have completely forgotten who made YouTube great and have failed to support and develop the ones that are new coming to the site. Advertising has NO place on the internet whatsoever and unfortunately we've allowed these advertisers to dictate how sites operate. NO MORE! I'm done with YouTube, the more I use DTube as both a viewer and uploader I see it's huge potential. Since the YTPP mail, I haven't viewed one video on YouTube. I find all I want now on DTube and smaller video sites.

I agree. Their business model is fundamentally flawed x

I had heard about this - but had no idea it was affecting 70% of all channels!

Are you going to move to DTube?

Yes I will be doing. I was astounded at how many people it was going to affect x

Excellent. Do pop the DTube posts in the SteemWales Discord when you put them up.

Will do pennsif xxx

I've fallen prey to this too. I've got the subs (just) 1003 but not even half the watched hours.

I'm heading to Dtube. I've already posted a vid on Youtube about this issue and advised my followers to join me on steemit/dtube......... all I'm getting is 'tumbleweed' though :(

How the piggin heck do I get onto DTUBE? I've looked everywhere and I can't find it lol. Help! x

Here you go:
www.d.tube (short and sweet)

Log in with your username and private posting key. (go to wallet and then permissions, click the 'show private key' on the top 'posting' code and copy/paste this revealed code as your dtube 'password'.
I did a test first upload yesterday and it automatically creates a steemit posting for it :)

Have fun.

Robbie x

I don't think it's a tool for censorship, youtube can follow whatever business model it wants. Youtube is not the government. They are a private company and are not obligated to provide you a platform for speech at all or can pick and choose how they see fit. Having said that, this is certainly poor customer relations and I think it's going to bite them in the end. I am one of those small creators with plenty of watch time but too few subscribers. I'll be slowly moving my thousands of videos elsewhere. Dtube and DailyMotion are the likely candidates at the moment. Anybody know how to embed a DailyMotion video on Steemit?

I just think that they would rather keep their advertising revenue all for themselves and that stinks! They won't find that people will stay. They have been censoring videos for many months now. Anything that criticised feminism, transgender, left wing policies are instantly demonetized.

And being a private company they can do that if they want but I think they will have less advertising revenue as smaller creators leave. I don't see how have 0 revenue from smaller creators vs. the revenue they currently get will help them but we'll see how that goes. Hopefully some more good similar services will pop up because there will certainly be a vacuum. DTube and DailyMotion are my best candidates so far but both have their drawbacks.

What do you think the drawbacks of DTube and Daily Motion are? x

DTube: monetization is temporary (7 days), more limited upload formats, performance issues sometimes, and the biggest drawback (if I understand correctly) is that your video will only persist for 57 months unless you pay or seed it yourself.

Daily Motion: Far fewer features than youtube and not as much of a social network aspect (may or may not be issues for you). It appears from my limited use that you will earn much less than with youtube and even DTube (at least in the short run). It also supports fewer video formats (can't upload mts files directly for instance without transcoding first).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53912.73
ETH 2234.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30