YOUTUBE - Sh*tting On The Little Guy :(steemCreated with Sketch.

in #youtube7 years ago

Hi All,

Checking my email a few minutes ago, I was amazed to find this one from YouTube:

Screenshot from 2018-01-17 09-14-15.png

WTF!!!

I've had a channel on YouTube for well over a decade now, no doubt helped in some small way to boost their profits and this is how they treat me! Yes, it's a private company and they can please themselves but I'm taking this as a 'right royal kick to the nuts'.

So I need +1000 subscribers and over 4000 hours of watch time over a 12 month period in order to have monetisation eligibility? How many other niche YouTubers with original and engaging content have woken up to the same email as me? Agreed, I don't make anywhere near a lifestyle changing income from this platform, just a few pounds if I'm lucky each month but I did appreciate this additional income.

I've got the +1000 subs, just. I'm lacking in the watched time.
Screenshot from 2018-01-17 09-21-03.png

As you can see below, since 16th January 2017 until the same date this year, I've accrued a not to unsubstantial 110,698 minutes of watch time. Not bad I guess for a relative small-fry in a very large pond. I recognise that the channel isn't as active as it once was due to abandoning the Eggmotor project back in 2012 but I do occasionally add other videos of what I may be currently involved in. As large as that figure of 110,698 minutes may appear, when you divide it by 60 (minutes) you end up with 'only' 1844.966 hours, not even half the requirement for eligibility.

Screenshot from 2018-01-17 09-19-54.png

Perhaps it's time for me to look more into the dtube platform?

A lot of hours, possibly 1000s when I look at it of designing , building and flying my creations (plus editing the videos of my antics) and chronicling these adventures with all the support garnered through YouTube's subscribers seems to me to now have been a waste of time. The videos I've created over the years will always (as far as I can tell) be available for all to see and learn from on YouTube but I find this latest move to be extremely underhand.

Well, my rant is over folks.

I'd love to hear your thought on this issue and if you've been affected by this also.

Am I right in my position and feelings on this matter or should it accept it as after all, YouTube is a business and needs to run and adapt as such?

Thank you for stopping by.

Rob.

footer2.png

Sort:  

This isn't really new.
This ''news'' are well known for two or three month now.

But YouTube is a Monopoly.
I hope d.tube will rise and kick YouTube in the ass.
But it needs some improvements.

I've been totally unaware, completely shocked me this morning.
I'm still in a p*ssed off mood at the moment lol.

youtube suck :/ good job we now have steemit and dtube now :) You would do awesome on dtube buddy, go for it.

I may have 'shot my bolt' now though, all the enthusiasm is waning ;)
Thanks for support and confidence in me tho :)

Maybe the reason you're unaware of this situation is because you're from GB.
It's been around for some time in the US and this has been pushed through al kind of VLOGS, NEWS-YT, and almost every channel here in Germany.

On the other hand... i have an very old account. 23 subs - 3 videos ... ^^ but i'm a partner. and i don't know why.

A fellow steemian @geordieprepper appears to have had the same email as me today.

Upload all your YouTube vids to Dtube!

I could do, it'll take a while though. I don't have most on my computer so I'll need to first download off youtube to reupload.
Does dtube earn crypto like steemit then?

When you post on Dtube it makes a Steemit post, so yeah it’s totally integrated and you will earn the same as on Steemit 👍

Ahh, I see :)
Looks like I could be burning the midnight oil uploading ;)

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Much appreciated :)

maybe i'm wrong but there is a way to copy all viedeos to dtube from youtube.
maybe you have to do some research and maybe youtube has blocked this method already... best of luck dude.

oh and btw you have a new follower

Thanks again for your support :)
I will look into transfer videos.
I do have firefox addon that will allow me to download from youtube (I haven't used it in a while so maybe Youtube has blocked it) if I do have to go this route.

I think YouTube wants to become something only for the big players in Town and there is not any more room for small channels, nevertheless I am glad you now had other options to choose for being rewarded by your own videos.

I think I've heard that YouTube will probably end up being a subscription-only site in the future so i think the days are numbered for a lot of YouTube creators.
Cheers,
Rob.

I'm on other end, I got the views but not the subs. They really are shitting on the small guy and I for one am done putting up with their bullshit. The bar they've set, they'll raise it anytime they want and if anyone with a channel higher than the current 'expectations' of YouTube to be deemed 'worthy' of monetisation thinks they won't be affected by this, ho boy are they in for a shock.

I think it will be their downfall. I've just done a video (for my utube subs). I'll be editing and uploading soon. I've managed after a bit of trouble (created 2 eggmeister accounts, one claimed one unclaimed lol) to follow @pennsif link and create a discord account. I quickly logged on to try have a look-see.

Nice :) and I got my Prepper Discord you can frequent if you want to :) - https://discord.gg/255Td3q

Many thanks :)
I've just quickly done a test log in, technology is getting beyond me lol.

btw,
I've just finished a video on the youtube email. Steemit post is up ;)

Hi @eggmeister, just saw this on @geordieprepper's post as well.

I believe there might be an opportunity here...

Are you on Discord at all?

Hi @pennsif,
Yeah, I'm really looking into Dtube now.
I've just got in from filming in the garage about this issue. I will be editing and uploading to Youtube (if it's not incoherent drivel lol) to inform/warn my loyal subscribers this afternoon hopefully. I'll see if I can get them to transition to Steemit/Dtube :)

I'm not on Discord, what is it exactly?

Discord is a free chat app - and much more (including the radio stations...) that is very popular amongst steemit users.

There are many different servers and channels.

There is a very active Homesteaders and Preppers Discord server - this link will take you to it.

Well worth checking these out for networking and post promotion etc.

@geordieprepper also runs a Prepper specific Discord as well

Excellent, I will check it out thank you :)

I can't register, I click to register, those little dots move under button then nothing :(
I'll try in Firefox instead of Chromium.

Bugger!!! It appears I've now got an unclaimed Eggmeister account and a fully active one. But the fully active one, when I click on your link then now brings up the original unclaimed one :(

Maybe try this link to the Wales Discord in case that works any better.

I think I'm sorted now thanks. Running two browsers at the same time probably didn't help lol.

Excellent - see you on the other side.

You can message me on Discord via @pennsif#9921

Much appreciated @pennsif
I've been beavering away this afternoon, finally got video edited and upload and just finished steemit posting about it :)

It's a real shame, with this youtube is only forcing many to move to other platforms to show their work and content.

As someone can begin on the platform if you do not hope to receive compensation for your work. It is completely ridiculous

Do not think about it, pass your content to dtube and continue with your great work

Hi @krenter, thanks for your nice words :)
Yeah, I think I will be reloading some of the classic 'Egg' moments in the not too distant future on Dtube.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66