YouTube warns of ‘consequences’ for creators who misbehave in the wake of Logan Paul controversy

in #youtube6 years ago

From CNBC


YouTube is working on policies that will punish creators whose actions impact negatively on its community, Chief Executive Susan Wojcicki said Thursday.

Wojcicki said the video-sharing platform is developing new policies that "would lead to consequences" if a content creator "does something egregious" that reflects unfavorably on other YouTube creators.

YouTube's CEO made the comments in a blog post that detailed a list of the Google-owned firm's priorities for creators in 2018.

In January, one of the service's most popular content creators, Logan Paul, published a video that showed the dead body of a man hanging from a tree. The video was filmed in Aokigahara, a Japanese forest known for an enormous amount of suicides that have taken place there.

The clip, which was taken down following an immediate backlash, ignited controversy for both the YouTube star and the website itself. Paul subsequently apologized for his actions in a post on Twitter, and YouTube removed him from its Google Preferred platform.

Read more: https://www.cnbc.com/2018/02/02/youtube-ceo-warns-of-consequences-for-creators-who-misbehave.html

The people over at DTube (https://d.tube/) must be licking their chops at this news. As YouTube decides to crackdown more and more on the raw independent content creators that made them what they are today in favour of corporate and commercial friendly content we will see a migration.

YouTube's loss is DTube's gain! DTube's gain is Steem and Steemit's gain! Everybody wins!

Leave your thoughts in the comments below.


Follow @contentjunkie to stay up to date on more great posts like this one.



Sort:  

I had heard about this LoganPaul but didnt knlw what he was famous for... Pretty gross.

But nevertheless Youtube is the focus here, they are pulling the rug out from beneath their own feet with demonetization, and crack downs on content creators.

2018 is the year of Steem. $40 steem by dec 2018.
#notfinancialadvice

I loved Google and felt about them the way some people feel about all things Apple, but since Alphabet was formed, I've become progressively more dissatisfied with many of their services. The moment Google Search went to sh*t, I knew it was over. They have developed or bought and perfected amazing things like Earth, Maps, Android and more and I was permanently logged into their service on every device.

They are distracting me with shiny trinkets while stealing my cattle behind my back. So I created a fresh account with no link to the real me and every last permission I was able to deny, I did. I have to be logged into Google for all my Android devices to be useful to log into sites without sign-up and to have control over YouTube.

Freedom of expression died on YouTube. Not mentioning their arsed policy that anyone can marked any piece of your content for copyright infringement. I recorded a story for my kid with me visible on screen, no music or anything, just a plain video, some idiot tagged me that I've stolen that from her channel. I think that her channel was about nail polishers and stuff. My video got stuck in no-published limbo for weeks....

YouTube should go to that forest and hang itself, uncensored content is the way with DTube, but i dont think YouTube has realised that they are in trouble yet! How can you punish the people that helped build you company anx network?

like your posts, and you are very genius towards people
visit my blog every time thank you do not forget upvote me @marshel

We used to love these companies like Facebook and Google once. But with a better and more importantly rewarding option like Steemit and dTube we have started judging every decision made by them. Is it the platform or the rewards which is making us do that.

Once DTube and similar services reach critical mass, YouTube will be forced by competitive pressures reevaluate its position towards content creators. Offensive or not, as long as material is not deemed illegal, why censor posts? Adults who are in charge of their mental faculties can ascertain for themselves whether any particular material merits their investment of time and attention. If YouTube continued on its current course, the best of the content creators will begin to vote with their feet; incidentally, this has already begun.

I think this is a very bad decision, everyone should have right to say when hen want to say. Why youtube forgot that every subscriber/viewer can subscribe/unsubscribe service of any creator.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58117.54
ETH 3128.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23