YouTube “De-Partnering” Not-So-Popular Video Blogs! :(

in #youtube6 years ago (edited)

A few days ago, I received an unfortunate email from YouTube. Based on their new protocol and guidelines, YouTube content creators who have fewer than 1,000 subscribers and less than 4,000 hours of watchtime over the past year are no longer eligible for monetization.

YouTube-email.jpg

Why is YouTube making this ridiculous change? The recent incident involving a douchebag content creator filming and mocking suicide victims’ bodies in Japan roiled YouTube, and its parent company Google. I get that. But extending punishments to hard-working, genuine content creators in the name of making it easier to police inappropriate material doesn’t make much sense.

Unfortunately, that leaves me in a tight situation. Last time I check, I have 940 subscribers, so I’ll need 60 more subscribers to meet their sub threshold. I’m going to create a YouTube video shortly, perhaps this weekend, asking for help in pushing me over that line. I’m hesitant, though – I’m sure sickos will unsub me just to get the satisfaction of taking me out of the threshold.

As they say, misery loves company.

I have until mid-February to get my YouTube up to “partner” level compliance. If not, I can kiss my monetization goodbye. I’d really like to not suffer that for only one reason. I use YouTube revenues as a genuine business activity. YouTube does not support me meaningfully in any way (I made $7 last month). Rather, for legal purposes, I want to provide a paper trail that I’m engaging in a profit-seeking activity.

So Here’s My Big Ask!

If any of you like my Steemit account, and find value in my posts, and if you have a YouTube account, please hook a brother up and help me get to that 1,000 benchmark.

Here's my YouTube URL -- https://www.youtube.com/user/BullishMoney (Thanks to @mikeparker for pointing out that I completely forgot to include this in my original post!)

In return, shoot me a PM or reach out to me on Steemit and let me know your YouTube account so that I can sub to you as well (if that’s what you want).

Thank you all so much! :)

Sort:  

Subscribed...Although I’m no longer a huge fan of YouTube. most of the channels I follow have gotten the same message at some point for the same reason. Time to move to DTube

Thank you, I appreciate your subbing nonetheless! And yeah, I'll look into this DTube; I keep hearing about it within Steemit circles, so I have to at least try.

Congratulations @bullishmoney! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95