I Tried to Save My Community Library

in #youtube7 years ago

The library in my hometown of East Boston is a historical landmark. It was one of the first libraries to open it's doors to the public in the United States. When the Kennedy's lived in East Boston they lived right next to this library on Meridian St. It is currently vacant and defunct since a new one was been built.

I submitted this video as a proposal into a pilot program being launched in Boston, MA. The pilot program allocated 1 MILLION dollars to funding several youth lead proposals to improve their communities.

After submitting this proposal and getting lots of traction from community members and government officials, I was allowed a meeting with the people in charge of the arts in Boston. During the meeting we talked about renovations that had to be done to the building, budgets, funding, and everything else to make this proposal a reality. In the end, the calculations amounted to more than a million dollars so the proposal could not be made possible.

In the future, I still want to make this idea a reality when I am more prepared and established. Overall, it was a great experience that taught me about how to assess an idea. I am still learning how to make and idea happen even if it is assessed as not feasible.

PS: I am grateful my friends helped me make this video/proposal possible

Sort:  

Congratulations @brianmadrigal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56570.01
ETH 3028.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29