New YouTube Monetisation Requirements

in #youtube6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,
I have some bad news for those using YouTube.

The YouTube monetisation requirements have changed.

The previous requirements were 10000 views, but they have now changed it to 4000 HOURS watch time (Edit: OVER THE LAST TWELVE MONTHS) and 1000 subs. That is 4000 HOURS in twelve months.
Any channels that are monetised but don't meet that requirement will be demonetised in February and it applies to any new channels.

I mostly posted this to let people know if they haven't heard already, but I will be honest, I am pissed off. The channels causing the most strife for YouTube in this regard meet these requirements already, so making it hard for the little channel is unfair and isn't even addressing the problem at hand. It doesn't help and it hinders a lot of people.

That said, I guess we just have to keep on going and this is also where diversification of income comes in. I've made more on Steemit so far than YouTube and what I made on YouTube wasn't enough to get in my bank, whereas I have actually received money from Steemit. It would be unwise to rely on only one income source, regardless of what it is though, so we all should be diversifying our income sources and not relying on one thing, regardless of whether it is ad revenue, Steemit or whatever, but all we can do is keep going.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news to those whom this affects. I am very annoyed by this myself. But good luck to you in what you do and hopefully all of us on YouTube can reach these requirements and / or also do well in other ways.

Good luck to everyone.

Sort:  

It's weird they made it even harder to make some money despite steemit got in the game. My guess was them having a fight by giving better opportunities to creators to have more users than each other.

I don't think the big ones like YouTube are really concerned about Steemit honestly. It's a good platform but I don't think it is of concern to them yet, at least not to the point of worrying about holding onto creators so they don't come over here. I started to think maybe they were when I saw the other comment on here though because it is ccnew and cc is used a lot in YouTube as content creator and creator community and others so I thought it may have been a worker from the creator community or something, especially since they linked the announcement from Google etc, so I was thinking okay maybe they do feel the need to look over here, but then looking at the account, they resteemed stuff that was criticising YouTube so I don't think so. It's just a name that obviously means something else.

agree that too. it's still very early stage, time will show probably sooner than expected. but gotta be on board. on the creation side and lots of testing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87