My Ambassadorial Award from President Olusegun Obasanjo

in #youth6 years ago (edited)

IMG-20180324-WA0046.jpgThe passion came at the speed of time. What I love being engaged in is just here before me, flirting with me to dance to its tune.

The mail I got on my phone that noon took away my attention from the initial assignment I was beckoned to carry out by my boss.
Drowned with mixed feelings
I couldn’t stop gazing at my phone, consuming the content one after the other and after a while, digested it. It was a mail from the Youth Development Centre of the Olusegun Obasanjo Presidential Library (YDC-OOPL) calling for youths passionate about the development of the country to help lend their voices as volunteers in different States against the incessant compliance of youths to the menace hitting hard on the future of the youths of our dear nation; irregular migration.

In a twinkle of an eye, I was drowned with mixed feelings; of the joy to contribute to nation building in my own capacity and pains of the bad experiences Nigerian youths have had to encounter in their yearn for a better life probably referred to as greener pasture in European nation. While getting over my sad state, I quickly switched alive my former mood and stated my readiness for the task while earnestly, impatiently awaiting the arrival of their response via electronic mail.

Their response of an offer letter blew away my mind as a firework hits the skies. What I love being engaged in is just here before me, I muttered. Immediately, I sent back my acceptance letter and soon, the journey kick-started.

#TheAbroad Campaign
Glancing through the mail, it read; Dear Adekunle Adewunmi, thank you for your application as a State Ambassador for #TheAbroad Campaign. We are pleased to inform you that you have been selected as a YDC-OOPL State Ambassador for the campaign in Kogi State.

The core task of the Campaign was understandable and detailed enough for better understanding. Irrespective of how it can be done, the aim of the Ambassadorial position was not to just bear the name but to be able to drive home a message to youths in my domain to desist from engaging on the destiny ruining adventure that is in fact, a wolf in sheep’s clothing.
The passion came at the speed of time. What I love being engaged in is just here before me, flirting with me to dance to its tune.

The urgency to start making impact was upon me like the cloven tongues of fire that sat on the apostles in the upper room and after being added to the official social media group with other Ambassadors representing different states in Nigeria, more strength and ideas surfaced. We had only 3 weeks to prove our abilities in each state to achieve a common goal; halting youth irregular migration.

As a Corps Member serving my fatherland in Kogi Sate, neglecting my Place of Primary Assignment wasn’t easy but, I decided to contribute more to the country since it’s also a plank to give back to my Host Community, telling them about youth irregular migration and making them understand the bitterness that springs out of the launching out into the deep of this journeys. PulseNG supported this by publishing my story on “youth irregular migration: cons and wayout.”

You can read more here: http://www.pulse.ng/communities/bloggers/youth-migration-summit-president-obasanjo-ambassadorial-award-id8288834.html

Thank you for reading.
Please, vote, resteem and comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51