Date Night! 💞🌼 {My Picks for February's @yourtop3 Contest}

in #yourtop35 years ago

IMG_20200116_104945024_HDR.jpg

With the whirlwind month of January already past, February is in full swing. The new month means a new round of the @yourtop3 contest! This round we're trying to get everyone to spread the good vibes (yes, maybe even some mushy ones) with their top date night ideas. Even if you don't buy in to the commercialization of Valentine's Day, it is never a bad time to share some ideas on how you enjoy spending quality time with your loved ones. 💞

This topic is a little bit different from some of the other ones we've hit in previous months, but it is always fun to challenge the Steem world to think outside the box and have a prompt that allows for some creativity. Though we do reserve the right to go back to silly movies or other pop culture next month. Perhaps one of these days we'll even hit up those desserts I teased you with @riverflows. A reminder of what we shared in the contest post: your dates can be romantic or fun, with a significant other or family and friends.

As usual, myself and the other panel members are not eligible for the prizes or polling, but we always try to get in a post ourselves to spur on ideas for the topic and to contribute our post payouts to the prize pool. I find it fun to step outside of my usual food-related posts to share some personal reflections each month. I hope you all feel the same way!

Growing up I remember Valentine's being a big thing because here in the US it was the norm to bring little cards and candy for all of your classmates to share on the day. They weren't anything fancy (thank goodness for my mother we grew up before Pinterest), but it was always fun to mark the occasion. As I started getting old enough to actually date, my opinion shifted and it felt more like pressure from the romantic side of things than just a fun day to show everyone a little extra kindness. I never "dated" much in high school or college, and just the thought of going out with a boy I might be attracted to was a bit terrifying. I think for the most part I felt much more comfortable in group dates with other friends around. Quite honestly, I kept myself so busy through college I didn't have time to hardly see my friends let alone take time to build a relationship.

Though @dksart and I have been together for almost a decade, it is rare that we go out on a date in the traditional sense. We're just not the going out type of peeps. If someone else plans an event, we are totally down to join, but for the most part we are both pretty happy hanging out at home. He humors me by going along for weekly farmers market visits or spectating at my races, and we'll watch a few movies a week cozied up on the couch together. I consider it a success if I don't fall asleep halfway through the movie. Every now and then we'll step outside the usual routine for a special...

Dinner...In

IMG_20180707_183842145.jpg

This one shouldn't come as too much of a surprise for those who know me or read my blog. As much as it is a nice treat to go out on occasion, trying to figure out what to wear and get ready for a night out stresses me out. For my ideal date I would much rather enjoy a meal at home. I actually get just as much pleasure out of cooking for my loved ones as I do having them cook for me, but I think for the perfect date it would be a joint effort. Yeah, yeah, I know I cook all the time, however we don't always have the chance to sit down together and eat a meal at the same time. For special occasions I'll try to really think about what he enjoys eating or make an effort to cook something a little bit more involved than usual. He's also stepped outside the box and made me some surprise delicious vegan desserts! The first time @dksart and I spent alone time together was at his house where I brought a side dish and he grilled. A simple meal to enjoy while we started getting to know each other better. The key to making it the most enjoyable for me is having him do the dishes. I love to cook, but much prefer to pass off the dish duty to someone else!

A Day at a Park

IMG_20181006_111803483.jpg

I don't think I'm alone with really enjoying an active date outside! Some of my top moments spent with @dksart or my friends include being outside either hiking or checking out a park. It doesn't even have to be anything special or far away. We went up to Blue Ridge, Georgia for a weekend getaway a little over a year ago, and a short hike to a beautiful viewpoint on the Appalachian trail and my first visit to Amicalola Falls was the perfect way to enjoy the trip. My favorite vacation ever was our trip out to Oregon a while back for many of the same reasons. So many amazing spots to explore! I have many more on my list to check out, so I suppose we better get to planning...

DK Portland.jpg

I suppose going to a U-Pick farm could also fall under this list. Lord knows I've dragged @dksart plenty of times to come pick fruit with me when the beautiful berries and peaches are in season. I'm pretty lucky to have a partner so willing to come along with me to do things I find enjoyable, but I don't think we would have lasted so long if he didn't like getting outside, too.

Concert

IMG_20161107_224046812.jpg

This one is definitely more under the category of a friend date. All throughout college I used to go to see live music with my friends on a regular basis. I had a few really close friends who loved all of the same bands that I did, and I have so many great memories of those nights--sweating our butts off in tiny venues or singing our hearts out to our favorite songs. Nothing makes me more nostalgic than going through old concert tickets from those days. @dksart is a good sport and will go with me to any shows I want to see, but he might just be getting tired of me dragging him to every single Jimmy Eat World show.

Now that I am thinking about it, probably one of the top concert experiences was with my dad. I took him to see Primus for the first time for his 50th birthday. It was just the two of us, but we had the best night. The show was absolutely amazing, and it spurred over a decade of seeing them come play any time they stopped through Atlanta. Pops is getting a little long in the tooth to have the patience for late night concerts these days, but I think I will have a hard time ever topping that birthday gift again. Maybe I can look forward to a new round of concert-going experiences in about 10 years when my niece is old enough to start coming with me. 😉

I am sure as with every other month I'll think of a few other things after I hit the post button! I can't wait to see some of the other picks from your entries this round, as well. Who can't use some more date night (day) ideas, right? 😉💚



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa



Sort:  

Wow, OK, I quickly saw those 3 things and was thinking those would be kinda similar to my ideas! Those are some great picks from the National Park, the scenery is amazing in Oregon, remember some fond times when I was travelling in that part of the world a few years back!

Wouldn't be you without a food related idea though!

We're certainly pushing the boat out this year with a whole array of topics. Sure, comfort zones may be getting tested this month (I'm REALLY going to struggle with the romantic side haha) but we all need some positive, feel good stuff right?

Well, I've started every paragraph off with the letter "W".

Why have I done that? Anyway, time to dash! Nice one Panel Pal!

Ooh, a bit of suspense there with your W hint. 🤔 Can't wait to see yours!

Where were you this whole time?

What have you been thinking about so far?

Want to know whats up, we thinks!

Where ever has the time gone!!

We must book a team date !

Would be nice to enjoy each others company with less work...

Well... Im running out of 'w' things to say, even though most of my things made no sense. I just felt like I had to lol.

You saw Primus with your Dad? That's cool. Your Dad is pretty young - I am thinking if he turned 50 recently, he's not much older than me. I loved going to see music with Dad, and I often go with my son too. We don't see concerts as often as we'd like to these days but I was such a concert girl back in the day. The stories I could tell lol..

I haven't seen a photo of you and @dksart before, and didn't know what @dksart looked like! Cute photo - you guys sure know how to spend quality time together.

I'll be posting mine this arvo, just gotta find a photo from at least ten years ago so we look younger and more appealing hahaha...After thinking about this challenge, I nurtured my man yesterday a bit more, feeling grateful for everything he does.

You are right, this is a sweet contest.

I'd have to really go back and look to see how many times we've seen Les and the boys now. Lots of good memories since that first concert 16 years ago! (Which makes Pops a good bit older now, well, both of us 😉) I hope he's got a few more left in him!

Sometimes a little nudge to make us stop and appreciate the people there day in and day out is just the thing to break us out of the daily rut. I know I get so caught up in my usually hustle and bustle I often forget the little things that once meant so much. We are solidly in birthday season with both of our families now, as well, so makes it even more special if we do remember to take the time to spend together. Makes me think I might need to break out some vegan nachos again for his fave meal...😜

A date! A date!! What a wonderful idea. I'm going to need to see if I can come up three fictional date ideas!

Haha, no sense not to break out those writing skills for a chance to win some Steem cheddar this month and join in on the fun yet again. ;)

Active outdoor activities beats it all! I can remember and imagine some pretty fun times out in nature. Hiking in places without other people around, free to do anything. ^_^

I have only been to 2 concerts in my life. One was Metallica, but also had Saliva, Limp Biscuit, and .....another I can't remember lol. The other was Woodstock in Beauce, Quebec. I would rather not talk about that one. Was kind of crazy lol.

Is...is...is that...zucchini? OOOOOOOOOOh man I miss fresh zucchini!! YUUUUUUUUUUUUM, Food like that makes any night a date night! lol

Only two concerts?? What? We need to send more bands up your way for you to enjoy, haha. I don't go to anywhere near as many as I used to, but I still make it to at least two a year of ones that I really enjoy seeing live. A lot of my favorite bands from high school and college are touring again 20 years later, so I've got a lot on my list currently.

That is indeed zucchini! Probably one of my top recipes I have ever whipped up. It was a summer veggie curry that was to die for. I will definitely making it again this summer. Just have to be patient and wait for all those veggies again...

I forgot one! I saw Walk Off The Earth. So that makes 3. I saw them sometime before one of the musicians passed away. I was lucky to get to see him.

OMG patience! I want spring time again to even just start growing. C'mon April! LOL
Care to share the recipe? :P

Oh gosh, I'm going to get sad thinking about how I won't ever get to see Chris Cornell again play live. Makes you realize we should jump on the chance to enjoy the things we really want to as we may only get one chance!

Here's that recipe: https://steemit.com/fruitsandveggiesmonday/@plantstoplanks/fruits-and-veggies-monday-summer-vegetable-curry

We hardly ever get to do date nights nowadays but those are exactly the kind of things we love doing! Hopefully I'll have time to do one of these feel-good posts by dragging up some memories;)

Oh I would love to read about some of your fun memories! That's exactly what we were hoping for with this topic--good vibes no matter the type of love evoked. 💚

You and I have such similar memories of childhood Valentines. I was never one. And like you, it was enormous pressure. I don't think I "did" it until I was an adult and then, I'm not sure if it was "proper". I think the first Valentine's dinner was with my ex-husband (yip, I have one of those...), and I coerced him to dinner and dancing. He loathed the latter.... Ahem...

One thing I can say for sure, my post will include food...

I wouldn't expect anything other than a nod to some good food from you, as well! Always a good way to show affection in my book. I honestly can't remember actually going out for the day, though I'm sure I must have. Apparently it wasn't memorable in any case, haha. I probably should have mentioned in my post though we also aren't big on gifts, the first year D and I were together he painted me a rose and gave me a potted orchid. Happy to say the painting is still on the wall and the orchid is just about to bloom again...

We'll see if we can catch up and last another 10 years. Hope you enjoy your anniversary festivities, whatever form they take. :)

Nice selection, Katie. Love all three options. I tend to cook for Jayne on an occasion but we do like to eat out at different places. The park is always a winner in my book. Concerts are an awesome choice, especially if you are buying tickets for your partner or mates favourite band. I bought Jayne tickets to Michael Bublé, in Bath, in June, for her birthday.

Nice job.

I bet you've made her some nice meals! It really is a treat to have someone cook for you. Hopefully we'll see some more entries soon with some more yummy ideas. ;) That is a wonderful gift of that concert for Jayne, as well! I don't think I've had anyone buy me concert tickets before, so I would definitely love that. Though I'm bad about just buying them myself as soon as I see them, which might be why I don't ever give anyone else a chance, haha.

Date nights, hazy memory of live shows or dinner and movies, has not happened in a long, long time.

Nice post, much like yourself prefer to keep to holidays or days out in the open.

Valentine's Day never featured growing up, first we learned of it must have been going onto twenty, by then you realized many of these occasions were just taboo.

It is easy to put those "dates" aside when life gets busy and other priorities take precedence. In the end as long as you are making quality time together even the simplest of activities together make the difference. :)

All good picks, who doesn't like a good concert.

Always a good way to make some memories. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50