My Favorite Holiday Movies - YourTop3 Contest

in #yourtop35 years ago (edited)

I'm squeaking in just under the wire with my entry to the Holiday Movies contest from @yourtop3. Oh the holidays! It's such a busy time of year. But I love it - all the music and lights, the wonder of it all and the festiveness in the air. It truly brings me joy.

Without further ado, here are my top three favorite Christmas movies.

#1 White Christmas


1140-white-christmas-movie-intro.jpg
Image source: AARP

I'm sure several other people have selected this one. It is one of the most awesome classics of all time. I can sing every word of every song, and in fact say every line. And it absolutely never grows old! Danny Kaye just captures my heart with his impish smile. All of the actors put in absolutely top notch performances. And that moment when Bing and Rosemary Clooney reunite behind the Christmas tree at the end is one of the most spectacular scenes of all time. At last the snow comes down, and they open the grand doors! And you just can't help but feel joy in your heart and believe that all is right in the world.

#2 It's a Wonderful Life


Itsawonderfullife.jpg
Image source: BBC

Another classic that must surely have been chosen by many (I purposely haven't looked at the other entries, as I didn't want my opinion to be swayed by anyone else's), It's a Wonderful Life is both one of the most heart wrenching and heart warming movies of all time. With all the pain our wonderful protagonist, George Bailey, endures as a child, and then again as he gives up his dreams to stay in the small town, and yet again as he reviews how life would have turned out if he hadn't existed, we simply can't help but feel the utmost joy when all comes around and the towns people come together to rescue him and his family from financial ruin. Oh, and that fabulous angel Clarence. What a love! There are so many wonderful moments in this movie. Truly one of Jimmy Stewart's best performances!

#3 Rudolph the Rednosed Reindeer


Rudolf.jpg
Image source: Amazon

Are you sensing a pattern here? This is my only animated selection, but it has something in common with the other two - a triumph over challenging circumstances and of course the ultimate joy: true love. I love everything about this movie, from the amazing voice of Burl Ives to Bumble, the Abominable Snowman to that silly dentist, Yukon Cornelius, and of course Santa. This is such a funny, frightening, sad and wonderful movie, that even to this day I love this movie, and I have been watching it each year for over 50 years!

Those are my faves. Thanks for reading, my friends!

Animated signature

Join me on Actifit! Get inspired to move every day, get fit and get rewards. Click this referral link to get started. Or find full instructions here.

Sort:  

'It's a Wonderful Life' is my favourite movie of all time. You'd have to have a very hard heart not to shed a little tear at the last scene. .....Attaboy Clarence!

Oh my gosh, I totally agree! I tear up just thinking about it!

Hey @jayna

We see that your awesome Top 3 entry post has reached 7 days old. Please remember to confirm your entry into the contest by sending half of your payout (STEEM and/or SBD) to the @yourtop3 account as your minimum entry fee.

We had a look on your steemwallet but that seems to only show post payouts from yesterday so went through steemd and found all the details there (see screenshot below) - please send over 2.592 STEEM to @yourtop3 as soon as you can and we'll get the results finalised before Xmas :D

But don’t forget that you can send us as much as you like for a chance to win a greater share of the prize pool. There is NO MAXIMUM! Also, send us your post URL in the memo.

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask. We would be more than happy to assist.

Thanks for entering and good luck.

The Top 3 Team

steemit banner - 1900 x 265.jpg

Will do! Thank you, @yourtop3!

Awesome! Thanks for sending over your entry fee, just letting you know that I've added you in with your nominations now!

Good luck and keep your eyes peeled for results post shortly! We're hoping to get this one out before Christmas :)

NH

steemit banner - 1900 x 265.jpg

Cool! I will watch for it! Thank you!

So happy you made it in for this month! Especially with some truly heart-warming choices. I believe the top two have been picked, but it is always great to see such good ones chosen a few times and the reasons behind. I'm so happy to see Rudolph make the dpoll, too! He's on my list, but as a panel member we don't add ours to the running so I'm glad you chose that one. Should be really fun as always to see which ones get the most votes. It's a wonderful line-up for sure!

Thank you, @plantstoplanks. I hope I did everything right. If not, I'll try to study up better next time. I purposefully didn't look at the other entries before writing mine, because I wanted to go with my heart on this. But should I have read the others and picked some different ones?

It's perfect! I know @tryskele doesn't look at the other entries first either. It's totally fine for multiple people to pick the same ones. We would much rather you pick from the heart with a beautiful entry like this than everyone having to pick different ones. That's why we have a tie-breaker system in place just in case. :)

Thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! We've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on our blog for the dpoll post!

Set your post payout to 50/50. You keep the SP and then transfer the STEEM and/or SBD (whichever is paid out at the time) to @yourtop3 with a link to your blog post entry in the transfer memo. This is the minimum entry fee, but you can add as much as you like to it! The more you add, the more you can win.There is no maximum entry fee.

Not sure how to find your post payout? Look in your Steem Wallet under Author Rewards to find the exact payout for your post. In the example below you would send the 0.014 SBD and 6.587 STEEM over to the @yourtop3 account as your entry fee. We’ll take it from there and convert all of the prize pool to SBD for easy prize distribution at the end of the month!

unknown-1.png

Coming in at the finish with some totally amazing choices! You always bring a great post to the contest, so we are happy to have you continue to be a part of the Top 3 family. :) Good luck in the dpoll!

P2P

footer banner.jpg

Thanks so much for running the contest, @yourtop3!

Haha yes Jayna! Talk about Last Minute dot com! Glad you were able to squeak this one out like Indiana Jones always manages to get his hat in the final split second every time!

These really are some vintage choices and you do have a unique one in Rudolph! The other two featured in a pub quiz I was at last night and we managed to guess our way to the right answer in there to earn ourselves joint last place (that's exponentially better than dead last!!)

Good luck with the contest!

Ha ha - last minute dot com. Love it. That was definitely a first. I wrote two blog posts in half an hour! Generally I give myself more time, but sometimes life just gets CRAY CRAY!

Haha, I know exactly how you feel! I was late for my badminton match yesterday because I just had to get a post out and don't have any other time in the week to write one, that's how cray squared it is! I didn't win the badminton either but I did get my post out so yet another partial success 🤣

Festively frantic over here!

We have to take the small victories when and where we can, @nickyhavey!

Absolutely! Now I have a comment from the Jayna minime, I'll take that as another small victory 😁

Nice picks. I like the last two. Never been big on Bing.
I like all the cartoon Christmas shows.

A Christmas Carol, Christmas Story, and...Die Hard are mine :-)

Oh gosh, Bing has my heart. I love that crooner voice of his. They broke the mold! :-)

Hee hee. Thank you for the beer, @rentmoney!



Hey @jayna, here is a little bit of BEER from @rentmoney for you. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66