Sort:  

"serious" competition. LOL

How can I pay to read an article not even knowing what I'll get out of it ... Fair enough we do so with books and movies, but just because we pay doesn't guarentee there's no ad disguised as news in there.

The only way I can imagine Yours taking off would be to complement steem. Get your free content on steemit.com, exclusive content on yours.org. If I know the author from steemit and I'd be willing to pay for exclusive content from that author, then maybe certain people with a large following could benefit from that idea.

I went there like a week ago to check it out, saw that I couldn't read the articles without paying, laughed, and came back to Steemit.

LOL. I pretty much did the same. But then I thought about it and realised it could be complementary to steem in a way.

....Oh but I shouldn't say any more those opinions are not free haha ;)

The best thing Steem has going for it is that the competition in the cryptocurrency-social media space seems to be garbage.

But when we have serious competition we'll have to step up our game.

@demotruk couldnt agree more with your statement. A lot of smart heads here lets share what we want to see improve. Quite a few things on my lost.

Yes, once I have visited the page, I could see from the start that it is not competitive for Steemit at all :))) Steem On Guys! We are on the best social media platform! Great to be here!

@demotruk, I have seen this since last month. However, the idea of paying before I read the contents was not a good one.

I truly hope a better competition comes up.

I signed up, checked it out, but then didn't touch it again, because I honestly don't know how to format articles like that. You know, split it in a part before and after a paywall. I'll stick with Steemit for now.

You could always post a description in the 'free' box and link your Steemit post in the 'paid' part.

https://www.yours.org/content/883a14561b3b023c5afa722c137e47f247d567deaa078a52f99cc235b62fd7a1

Aah that could work... you mean literally link to my Steemit post, or copy/paste the content to Yours?

I personally just posted the link. Obviously it's not very in the spirit of the platform, so you might get some flak for it.

Yeah, I figure that's not really how they intend it. Could also copy/paste the whole thing with a reference to Steemit, but I don't think I can really be bothered to manage even more sites...

Can anyone tell me if they can get anything to work?

Edit: it appears that it doesn't play well with incognito mode. The site is basically functional if I use a regular Chrome session.

'The Yours micropayments wallet does not work in your web browser. We recommend using Google Chrome.'

Great start when clicking Join using Safari on the iPhone 😂

And I am using Google Chrome....

XD

They seem to have a long way to go!

They have been working on this for years now. In fairness to them, most of the time was consumed by transitioning from a Bitcoin on-chain, to Bitcoin off-chain, to Litecoin off-chain solutions. They essentially had to develop their own proprietary version of Lightning Network.

Ahh, so it's fair to say we shouldn't be too troubled by this 'competition' currently?

What else is out there I wonder?..

Akasha and Synereo. Akasha has at least launched, but the reviews have said it's extremely slow. Like, 10 minutes for your post to go through, kind of thing. Synereo is very ambitious but appears to be in development hell.

Golos.io is out there and cool, a Steem fork primarily focused on Russian users.

Honestly the biggest threats are that someone simply ports the steemd code and does things better than Steem in some way. Or perhaps a Steem clone running on EOS in maybe 1-2 years from now.

Thanks for the information. Sounds like steemit has the run on everything thus far, good!

I have been waiting for Yours since before I knew about Steemit, and I joined steemit a year ago - that says a lot.. That said, I'm not sure if Yours will be serious competition for Steemit. I think that remains to be seen.

If I had to pay 20 cents to view this post, would I have bothered? I don't know... would most people? I'm not sure...

That said, I have an account, and I've made a positive post on Yours HERE and I look forward to seeing all the bugs worked out. I am not a loyalist, but I'm not sure if it will manage to overtake Steemit. We'll see!!

paying to read blogs blind? it seems like the antithesis of sTeemit.. I give it a week !

Seems like a fail. Just tried... Well...
Should I clear my browsing history as well, just to forget that site? :)

I don't know, the developers are still cool and they have noble goals. Maybe they can look and Steem, realize they can't beat us and join us instead ;-)

definitely, Steem is the first of a kind. It's copy that wants to beat it, should be at least 50% better. Or more interesting. Or at least, work properly :)

"serious competitor" :D

Serious Competition
Most of the buttons aren't working for me

:D

Not a threat to steemit. Too far from being one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74