TYT is where journalism goes to die.

in #young3 years ago

image.png

I'm thankful that I don't see The Young Turks network passed around as a source much recently. Cenk is just an insufferable human being.

I didn't cut them out of my routine because I disagree with them philosophically. I cut them out because I was tired of seeing Cenk yell with a condescending tone a lot of things that weren't true. The last straw for me was when Cenk took the side of CJ Werleman, a known plagiarist and liar, over Sam Harris seemingly because Werleman tows Cenk's line.

Finally though, I ended up getting another reminder.

I follow a small YouTube channel hosted by a former prosecutor which seems to do a good job of simply talking about the facts and what the law actually says while rarely editorializing (Nate the Laywer), it was through that that I got a TYT "report" about the shooting of Breonna Taylor.

Cenk stated very loudly and confidently that the police had the wrong address, that the cops came in guns blazing, and that Taylor was killed in bed asleep. All of these claims have been thoroughly refuted since the shooting. The facts are that the warrant had the correct address, Kenneth Walker never claimed to have not fired the first shot, and Taylor was standing next to Walker - she wasn't asleep in bed.

It's not the reporting of this that's so wrong. A lot of news organizations reported the same stories. But, I double checked TYT on this - they posted that video in January. A full ten months after Taylor was killed and after every credible news source had issued corrections TYT is still clinging to these false reports.

Why? It's not like the truth makes Taylor's death any less wrong. If anything, the truth removes the factor of human error and replaces it with a system horrifyingly acting in the way that it was intended to. Is this simply negligence on the part of TYT? Is it politically motivated? Is Cenk so against the castle doctrine that he feels that admitting that Walker shot first would force him to examine his previously stated positions?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65