What I Like About Steemit, Why Did I Join and What Made Me Stay? - A You Got Snekked Contest Entry



You Truly Wanna Know?


This is actually something I have talked about before, why did I join SteemIt? Well MONEY duh!!!

Here is the thing the first thing you learn about SteemIt is that is a social media platform that pays you money for every like (upvote) you get, so, what is the first thing that comes to mind? exactly like Facebook (or Instagram, YouTube or any other social media) but better cause I will get pay!!!! This should be fairly easy, I’m going to be rich!. That is what we all think when we learn about it, then you come here make your account and make your first post probably a #introduceyourself and make 0 upvotes or make like 10 but the final payout is 0 and your are left thinking WTF? Where is the money that I was suppose to be making in this thing!

I will have to be honest I came to the platform when 1 SBD was worth 6US$, so my first post made like 1US$ in the final payout and that for a person living in Venezuela was a small fortune specially for not wasting more than 2 hours making a post, but as you may guess my next post weren’t as successful as I expected, and I thought well this is a lie, is so hard to make all the easy money I was suppose to be getting out this thing!! And I saw all this posts in the trending page that were making all this money it was amazing a post making over 1000 bucks! And here I am with my 0.01 unworthy post, something I was doing wrong.

So, obviously I started doing research how can I make more money in this thing! And got to learn about this bots the free ones that gave you upvotes just because, there was this one in particular that I used a lot in this discord server call PALNet that I didn’t know what it was I just knew that if I went there and put in the command I would get free upvotes.

But this posting original stuff every single day is really hard so I started using Dmania, cause of course memes are going to get me rich! And well it did (again I live in Venezuela any amount of dollars in here is a lot for a person) I made 130US$ with my second meme ever!! I was so happy!!! It help made some renovations in my house and to buy me some clothes (yeah I wasn’t pregnant back then LOL the good times when I could spend money in me and not my baby).

But then this bot from PALNet was starting to put all this rules for its use like no upvotes on any DMania stuff 😒 😔 😕 ☹️ so yeah that was not fun, also it started increasing the time of cool down for its use from 12hrs it went to 36hrs.

So, here I was not knowing what else to post that could be upvoted by the free bot and with 36hrs to wait. Also, by this time I was already pregnant and man the morning sickness it should be call all day sickness and it sucks! I was so not in the mood to move or wake up or live life all I wanted to do was lay in bed and complain all day, so yeah posting wasn’t that much in my mind even if I did need it the money that it could generate me and lately it wasn’t that much, cause my post were shitty (I still think they are but lol they are also so much better than before).

And then one day I was laying in bed and decided I needed to take my mind out of the nauseas or I would start hating on my own child (I love him like crazy he is the greatest love of my life but believe me morning sickness are not easy). And I went to discord and started to look around waiting for the 36hrs of cool down for the use of the bot.

What Made Me Stay?

And then it happen! I learn about community! It was in this little channel call #General-Chat-DeepEnd inside the server of PALNet, there I saw all this people chatting in English (my native language is Spanish, yeah that is why my grammar in English sucks big time) and it pick my interest, I wanted to practice my English so I join in the chat saying hello, and everybody there were so welcoming right away all jump to say hi back and to ask me where I was from, all those crazy people where so nice to a stranger it made me feel so nice, I have learn so so so much in there, it help me see what I was doing wrong and how I could improve and how I could make more money too!

It also help me make connections, I was one day talking about life in Venezuela and I guess that pick the interest of this guy to go look for my posts and he choose one to make it part of that week #YouGotSnekked, I have never been curated before it was so exciting and such an honor to be curated and then that was how I learn about this awesome other server that it was run by this crazy sweet lady snake that eats apples (if they are green the better). The YouGotSnekked server is amazing it has all snakes and apples and more importantly community focus curation, wish I love, you cant just come by to drop your link, they only dropping links channel that the sever has is to share the love and in that one you have to drop a link of a post from another person other than you that you think is worthy of curation, and that makes it imo special.


emojis (1).png

What Did I Like the Most?

I love how this platform is community centric, most of the time we focus on the media part of it to try and cash in but forgot about the social part, and that is where the money really is, you’ll see you can go to the MSP server PALNet and use the free upvote that will give you 0.1stu but if you stay there and chat and interact you will gain bigger votes from the people in there, if you go to the Snekky server and make someone drop a link for you, you could get curate once and get a worthy vote of approximately 3stu but just that one time, but if you stay and mingle you could get votes weekly from the lovely lady snake cause she is sweet like that, so being social, making interactions will make you more money than just dropping links where you go, also it would make you great friends, I have meet so much amazing people and learn so so so much about so many things, in those 2 servers I mention in this post, you will always find someone willing to answer even what it seems like the most stupid of questions and they will do it nicely and they will repeated for you if you still don’t get it.

So, I guess what I like the most is the connections I have made with people from all over the world, making friends, being able to have a laugh even when I’m down or when I feel sick and don’t want to get out of bed, or scare cause I have to push a human out of me through a very small part of my body. Community is the best it would help you grow in this platform and make yourself a better steemian.

This post is an entry to the #YouGotSnekkedContest

Join the snakes eating apples, to learn more about the contest and all the fun we are having in the server here!
15153526194949375.jpg

And also!

I’m Proud member and supporter of the Minnow Support Project, If you are not yet on the community what are you waiting for?


banner created by @justcallmemyth


As always, thank you very much for reading me and
I hope to read your comments!


Picture Credit: Emojis were created with Bitmoji.com!


Picture3.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by VictoriaBSB from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62759.93
ETH 3112.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87