You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Important YouAreHOPE Foundation Announcement - HUGE GROWTH ORIENTED CHANGE OCCURRING

in #youarehope6 years ago

Hi @lucylin.

I'm my opinion you should be skeptical of charity organizations. Most take your money and little goes to the help they advertise. That's the beauty of YAH. Being on the blochchain allows for perfect visibility.

As far as my career history goes with humanitarian work...

Growing up my parents were always taking people in and currently redistribute truck loads of food around the community to those in need which I help with occasionally. My aunt runs a food bank locally that takes and gives some of this supply.

Having squatted in nearly every state in the country, sleeping under bridges and feeding myself from dumpsters, I've had a first hand look at poverty in our country.

From that experience I continued traveling the country gathering food donations, cooking it and serving it in cities across the country to thousands of people in need as we traveled.

Everything my family does and that I've done this far has been on a personal level... Not involving larger organizations (much of dad's work was through his church).

In my personal experience we put our energies into implementation rather than talk. Showing up where we were needed most with tons of food to share. I plan to take a similar approach with @youarehope. To implement sustainable strategies first and talk later. Thus avoiding senseless BS.

Sort:  

Hear, here.

Thanks for the reply!

I've been looking into the 'charity con' somewhat - and it really is a cesspit of financial maneuverings (and very little to do with charity), hence my questions regarding YAH...

From the lack of response from some organizations, and lack of willingness to engage , my antenna are switched on to any kind of obstruction to transparency, in regards to charity...

Having squatted in nearly every state in the country, sleeping under bridges and feeding myself from dumpsters, I've had a first hand look at poverty in our country.

Yup, been there, and done that to. (in Europe, not the US).
I'm poorer than a mouse who has just been evicted, and had his last bit of cheese taken off him, but I still give a guy with no legs and a skateboard some rice most days...
(I'm in Asia nowadays, not the west..)

And that echoes my own childhood, as my parents were awarded Citizens of the Year by our state for nearly 40 years spent organizing a 12-church wide clothing and food collection and distribution network that served around 100K people a year from multiple "free store" locations in the area.

Among other things.

Dig all you want, this is the future of charity, specifically because you CANT bury anything in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62934.10
ETH 2452.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66