Introduction to chakras !steemCreated with Sketch.

in #yoga7 years ago

Before I start explaining about the chakras in detail, here is a little introduction so you can get a little overview of them.

All of the chakras have different meanings and affect different parts of our physical body as well of our astral one. In total we have seven chakras. The three lower chakras focus mainly on our physical body, whilst the three upper ones are more spiritual. In the centre we find the heart chakra, connecting the two sides to each other. Here is a list over the chakras we have.

Muladhara - root chakra
Svadhisthana - sacral chakra
Manipura - solar plexus chakra
Anahata - heart chakra
Vishuddha - throat chakra
Ajna chakra - the third eye
Sahasrara - crown chakra

The chakras vibrate at different frequencies, just like the way we see different colours. The ground chakra vibrates at the lowest frequency and the higher the chakra, the higher the frequency, therefore more spiritual with higher energy.

#1 Muladhara.png
Muladhara chakra is located at the root of the spine and is associated with SURVIVAL. It’s element is EARTH and it represents the element of structure.

#1 Chakras.png
The Svadhisthana chakra is located in the lower abdomen and is associated with EMOTIONS and SEXUALITY. It’s element is WATER and it represents the level of biological life.

#1 Chakras.png
The Manipura chakra is located in your solar plexus and is associated with WILL POWER. It’s element is FIRE and balances physiological motivation.

#1 Chakra.png
The Anahata chakra is located in your chest and is associated with LOVE. It’s element is air and it represents the level of motion.

#1 Chakra.png
The Vishuddha chakra is located in your throat and is associated with TRUTH. It’s element is Ether and governs our creative expression.

Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 13.24.46.png
The Ajna chakra, also called the third eye, is located in the middle of your forehead and is associated with INTUITION. This is where we truly start to explore the spiritual side of ourselves.

Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 13.28.37.png
The Sahasrara chakra is located at the crown of your head and is associated with BOUNDLESSNESS. This is the connection to the divine, our Father, just as the root chakra is the connection to Mother Earth.

There is so much to learn about the Chakras. Even though I have studied them for a year, I’ve only myself just scratched the surface. I don’t want to overwhelm anyone with too much information, but next time I post about the chakras I will only post about one at a time. Do ask me any questions you might have! :)

In the meanwhile, have a nice weekend!

Love,
Tone

Sort:  

Thank you for this post. I'll be looking forward to your next post.

So glad you found it interesting. I'm so fascinated by yoga philosophy that there will be loads more to come!

What I like a lot about the chakras is the fact that you they are analogous to our life.
When our throat chakra is out of balance for example, talking is difficult. starting conversations is almost painful even.
When you force yourself to talk, through a callcenter job or by reading out loud, talking becomes easier and the energy starts to flow faster through the throat area.

I like what you're writing about, following!

I know! It's so fascinating! I was struggling a lot with my root chakra because I was never feeling safe and always struggling with money. After I got back home I started to relax, feel safe, steady and I feel I know now what I want to do.

Thank you !

Nice read. I've been doing yoga since the late 1970s and never get tired of learning perspectives on the individual yoga journey. Thanks for the post...

That's fantastic! Never stop doing it. I feel blessed for having discovered yoga so early in my life. But thankfully we never stop learning !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.78
ETH 3089.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48