Introductory Post - You don't need to be fixed, healed, purified, made better or detoxed...

in #yoga7 years ago (edited)

26 May 2017 07:06
"It's a yoga thugs life. I have never been much of a purist yogi. I drink sometimes, I eat meat, I don’t care what chemicals are in my shampoo, I like to kick things and I sometimes drop LSD and dance all night at trance festivals. This is just who I am, at this time anyway, and I like it.

18739664_10155365125061514_8778974948030546547_n.jpg

I gave up on trying to be a purist many years ago when it felt like a lot of effort and I felt myself getting a stick up my arse. When I accepted that I was a bit rough around the edges and this is who I was for now, I relaxed a lot more and life felt more natural and fun.

Life became more of a dance rather than a performance.

The reason so many people are so uptight, stressed out and yes, have a stick up their arse is because they are living in a way that is not who they naturally are. They are trying to be a version “better” than who they really are, in that moment, or they are simply trying “fit in” with the projections of society and the people around them. If you are bit rough around the edges, good, own it. If you're a bit weird, good, own it. If you feel like doing something different to everyone else around you, good, own it. Most of the greatest human beings that have walked this earth were highly eccentric. Even Buddha and all the great saints must have been an eccentric and intense people to have committed to what they did.

It is only when you accept and “follow your own weird,” as Alan Watts puts it, will you be able to fully relax into yourself. There is nothing to be healed, or fixed, or made better - when you relax into who you really are, the healing naturally occurs. (exercise is essential ingredient here, because a sedentary life is not “natural” to anyone, no matter which way you carve it.)

I didn’t go to yoga because I needed to be healed or fixed or purified or detoxed, I went to it because it felt natural. I don’t meditate to make myself a better person or bio-hack my brain, or communicate with aliens. I do it because, in that moment, nothing seems more important than just sitting with myself. These things just feel normal to me. I’m not trying to do “good” things, I just do what feels natural and there is a great relaxation and confidence in that.

Give up the idea that you need to be fixed, healed, purified, made better or detoxed. Instead work out who you really are, what feels natural to you and relax into it. Those things will then take care of themselves and you will no longer feel so overwhelmed or stressed out. Bam!"

More coming soon...

Thanks to everyone that comments, supports, follows, and shares.

Sort:  

Welcome Michael! Great topic and reflection on just being our own unique individual selves. Bam! I llok forward to supporting and connecting more as we Steem ON together in this community. Upvoted and following :)

Thanks @sourceoftruth :) looking forward to the future with Steemit :)

Every way is a way, here's to honoring all healings brother. Nice to meet another raver in the dance.. Steem Om 🙏🏻 🌟

Thanks Keni. Life is gooood ;)

Congratulations @yinyangmichael! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit Michael .

Thank you :) happy to be here

Welcome Michael. A thought provoking post.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79